KARACHI, June 28: Fourteen provincial ministers belonging to the Muttahida Qaumi Movement submitted their resignations to acting governor of Sindh Nisar Ahmad Khuhro at the Governor’s House on Tuesday.

Being the speaker of the Sindh Assembly, Mr Khuhro became acting governor on Tuesday following the resignation of Dr Ishratul Ibad Khan from the office of Sindh governor.

The 14 ministers of the MQM are: Syed Sardar Ahmad, Syed Faisal Sabzwari, Dr Saghir Ahmad, Mohammad Raza Haroon, Syed Shoaib Bokhari, Muhammad Adil Siddiqui, Abdul Rauf Siddiqui, Shaikh Muhammad Afzal, Khalid Bin Wilayat, Nisar Ahmad Panhwar, Nadia Gabol, Abdul Haseeb, Dr Muhammad Ali Shah and Zubair Ahmad Khan.

However, 12 were present on the occasion and Syed Faisal Subzwari and Dr Saghir Ahmed were not there.

Sources said the acting governor urged the MQM ministers to review their decision, as he recalled that tolerance was the basis of democracy and they had worked together with good understanding in an atmosphere of reconciliation. Whatever misunderstanding and reservation they had could be sorted out on the negotiation table, he said.

However, MQM leader Raza Haroon said that the MQM had extended unconditional support to the government only for the sake of democracy and stability, but keeping in view the government attitude towards the MQM it was no more possible to stay in the government.

Earlier, the ministers belonging to the MQM gathered at the chamber of MQM’s parliamentary leader Syed Sardar Ahmad at the Sindh Assembly on Tuesday morning.

Raza Haroon told newsmen that the MQM had now decided to sit on the opposition benches and play its full democratic and effective role by highlighting problems being faced by the people.

When asked if he was in touch with the Pakistan People’s Party leadership, he said he had no information in this regard.

However, he made it clear that the decision to quit the government was final, as Governor Ibad had also resigned.

He was asked whether the postponement of election on two Karachi seats of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly was the main cause of the MQM decision, Mr Haroon said it was their principled decision as the PPP government wanted to deprive the MQM of its due right.

He said not only the MQM but now all political parties were expressing doubts over the AJK elections.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister’s Adviser Khawaja Izhar-ul-Hasan and Special Assistant to the CM Ghulam Haider Rahu went to the Chief Minister’s House and submitted their resignations to the CM.