MIRPURKHAS: Pakistan Peoples Party candidates for the reserved seats of the Mirpurkhas district council filled in their nomination papers for submission with the election officials concerned on Thursday.

Their names were finalised at a meeting presided over by PPP Mirpurkhas division president and former federal minister Pir Aftab Hussain Shah Jilani here on Wednesday. Speaking to the media after the meeting, Pir Jilani said the candidates were selected strictly on merit basis and with the consensus of the central and provincial leadership.

The meeting was attended by MNAs Mir Munawwar Ali Talpur and Pir Shafqat Hussain Shah Jilani, MPAs Haji Noor Hassan Bhurgari and Mir Haji Hayat Talpur, former MPA Shamim Ara Panhwar, a PPP women wing leader Azmina Nazir Chandio and a large number of party leaders and activists.

Speaking at the meeting, Munawwar Talpur said it was heartening to note that no one from within the party questioned the selection of candidates for local bodies at any stage which reflected workers’ confidence in the party’s leadership.

Mir Anwar Ali Talpur, the son of Munawwar Talpur, also attended the meeting and is widely believed to be selected by the party for the chairmanship of the Mirpurkhas district council.

Published in Dawn, January 29th, 2016