GUJRAT: The alliance of PML-Q and PTI has clinched 10 out of 11 seats (four NA and seven PA) of Gujrat district as the PML-N could survive on only one NA seat that was won by Abid Raza Kotla after a very tough competition with the joint candidate of the alliance.

Senior PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi had got two seats of NA-69 and PP-30 (Gujrat city-Kunjah) after beating his close kin former MNA Chaudhry Mubashar Hussain of the PML-N whereas Chaudhry Hussain Elahi, the scion of Wajahat Hussain, has also won on NA-68 against Nawabzada Ghazanfar Ali Gul of the PML-N.

The candidates of the Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) have also secured a surprising number of votes on almost all the seats of Gujrat district where Sahibzada Mehmood Awani took some 43,000 votes on NA-68 (Jalalpur Jattan) whereas Hafiz Farrukh Nadeem about 32,000 votes in PP-28 (Tanda) and Ijaz Ahmed Ranian of the party took 30,000 votes in PP-32 (Dinga).

The highest number of votes was secured by Pervaiz Elahi, the joint candidate of PML-Q and the PTI, on both the NA and PA seats as he took 122,336 and 75,000 on NA-68 and PP-30, respectively.

Published in Dawn, July 27th, 2018