ISLAMABAD: Zero hunger, climate-smart resilient agriculture, sustainable ecosystems, and inclusive and efficient food systems are the priority areas that will be focused by the United Nations’ Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) under the new Country Programming Framework (CPF) 2018-21, currently being finalised, it was learnt on Saturday.

The five-year CPF is being jointly developed with the government and other partners, and reflects relevant priorities in key national development policies.

The zero hunger programme will cover healthy, safe and nutritious food for all while the climate-smart resilient agriculture and sustainable ecosystems will include forests, fisheries, livestock and water management.

These areas are also the key pillars of the National Food Security Policy which has recently been approved by the government. The Ministry of National Food Security and Research (MNFSR) is currently evolving a strategy and plan of action to implement the policy in collaboration with provinces.

An evaluation of the just-ended country programme has recommended that FAO together with MNFSR should include in the next CPF, a programmatic response to the key structural changes in the agriculture sector, such as agriculture subsidies, trade, industries, rural transformation, land tenure and market development and the more persistent issue of the Fata reforms.

Published in Dawn, April 15th, 2018



Updated 28 Nov 2021

Creating superbugs

The tendency to pop antibiotic pills at every sneeze has brought us to the brink of a disastrous health crisis.
28 Nov 2021

Channel tragedy

THE responses of the French and British governments to the biggest human tragedy in the English Channel in recent...
27 Nov 2021

Supporting ECP

ALTHOUGH the government bulldozed legislation on electronic voting machines through parliament, the reality is that...
27 Nov 2021

Forgiving the Taliban

IF there is one takeaway from Thursday’s gathering of more than 1,000 Shia Hazaras in Kabul, it is the call given...
Living in fear
Updated 27 Nov 2021

Living in fear

THE registration of a blasphemy case against four members of a family from a village on the outskirts of Lahore has...