Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KARACHI, March 23: Twenty-one distinguished figures were awarded Sitara-e-Imtiaz and President’s Pride of Performance for their excellent performance in their respective fields at an impressive investiture ceremony held at Darbar Hall, Governor’s House here on Wednesday.

Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ibad conferred the awards on behalf of the President of Pakistan. Chief Minister Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim also attended the ceremony.

Fifteen personalities were conferred Sitara-e-Imtiaz and six were awarded Pride of Performance.

The recipients of Sitara-e-Imtiaz are: Dewan Mohammed Yusuf Farooqui (Public Service - Highest Industrial Investor), Prof Bina S. Siddiqi (Science -Chemistry), Prof Anwarul Hasan Gilani (Science - Pharmaceutical Sciences), Prof Mohammed Sultan Farooqi (Medicine), Prof Rabia Hussain (Medicine - Research and Education), Abida Parkin (Art - Folk and Classical Singing), Moin Akhtar (Art -Acting), S. H. Hashmi (Public Service), Prof Kazi A. Shakoor (Public Service -Pathology and Public Health), Dr Asim Hussain (Public Service - Medicine), Ghous Akbar (Public Service - Highest Taxpayer), Abdul Razak Tabba ( Public Service -Highest Exporter), Dr Khalid M. Khan (Medicine - Medicinal and Synthetic Organic Chemistry), Prof Yunus H. Soomro (Medicine - Surgery/Orthopaedics) and Shahzad Roy (Public Service).

The recipients of Pride of Performance are: Prof Durre-Samin Akram (Medicine), Mohammed Fakir (Art – Folk Artist/Surando Expert), Qari Hamid Mahmood (Art - Qurat/Naat Khwan), Dr Fahmida Hussain (Literature - Writer/Sindhi Literary Criticism) and Ustad Rais Ahmed Khan (Art - Sitar Nawaz).

The ceremony was attended by provincial ministers and advisors, Speaker of the Sindh Assembly Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Sindh Ombudsman Yusuf Jamal, City Nazim Niamatullah Khan, Naib City Nazim Tariq Hasan, representatives of the three services, Chief Secretary Mohammed Aslam Sanjrani, diplomats,

IGP Asad Jehangir, provincial secretaries and notables of the City.—APP