Last crown prince of Swat dies at 86

Updated 04 Aug 2014


MINGORA: Veteran politician and the last crown prince of the princely state of Swat, Miangul Aurangzeb passed away in Islamabad on Sunday. He was 86.

He was laid to rest in his ancestral graveyard in Saidu Sharif, Swat.

His funeral prayers were attended by political leaders of different parties including Adviser to Prime Minister Eng Ameer Muqam, members of provincial assembly, bureaucrats, local people and family members.

Miangul Aurangzeb, who served as governor of NWFP (now Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) in 1999 and governor of Balochistan from 1997 to 1999, was born on May 28, 1928 in Saidu Sharif. His father Miangul Abdul Haq Jahanzeb was the last ruler (Wali) of the princely Swat state.Miangul Aurangzeb joined army in 1948 and served as aide-de-camp (ADC) to the then president Ayub Khan.

He quit army after marrying the daughter of Ayub Khan in 1955 and joined politics.

Miangul Aurangzeb represented the princely state of Swat in the West Pakistan Assembly from 1956 to 1958. During the martial law of Ayub Khan, he was nominated to National Assembly in 1962.

He represented the princely state in National Assembly for another term when he was nominated again as member of the assembly in 1965. He was declared crown prince in 1966.

After the merger of Swat state into Pakistan in 1969, Miangul Aurangzeb continued his political activities and became Member of National Assembly from Swat in 1970 general elections. He had contested the election on Muslim League's ticket and defeated the candidate of National Awami Party.

He was re-elected as Member of National Assembly in March 1977 general elections while afterward he won the National Assembly's seat from Swat in March 1985 general elections which were held on non-party basis.

In 1988, Miangul Aurangzeb contested the election on the ticket of Islami Jamhoori Ittehad but he was defeated by his cousin Shahzada Aman-i-Room, a candidate of Pakistan Peoples Party.

In October 1990, Miangul Aurangzeb contested election as independent candidate and was defeated by the candidate of Islami Jamhoori Ittehad.

After the two-time defeat in polls, he retained the seat in 1993 general elections.

Published in Dawn, Aug 4th, 2014