21-member Sindh cabinet sworn in

12 Apr 2008


KARACHI, April 11: Twenty-one members of the Sindh cabinet were sworn in at the Governor House here on Friday. Governor Dr Ishratul Ibad Khan administered the oath.

The new cabinet includes four women minister.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Prime Minister’s Adviser for Interior Rehman Malik, Speaker of the Sindh assembly Nisar Ahmed Khuhro, MNAs, MPAs and representatives of armed forces.

The following portfolios have been assigned to the ministers and an adviser:

Pir Mazharul Haq, education, literary and criminal procedures service; Zulfiqar Mirza, home, prisons, forest and wildlife; Syed Ali Nawaz Shah, agriculture; Manzoor Hussain Wassan, works and services; Ayaz Soomro, law, parliamentary affairs, sports and youth affairs; Murad Ali Shah, revenue excluding land utilisation and relief; Nadir Ali Magsi, food; Agha Siraj Durrani, local government; Jam Saifullah Dharejo, irrigation and power; Sajid Jokhio, Zakat, Ushr and religious affairs; Akhtar Jadoon, transport; Jam Mehtab, population welfare; Amir Nawab, labour; Abdul Haq Bhurt, livestock; Mukesh Kumar, excise and taxation; Sassui Palejo, culture and tourism; Shazia Marri, information; Begum N.D. Khan, social welfare; Abdul Jalil Memon, cooperatives; Dayaram, minority affairs; Tauqir Fatima, women development and Adviser Khattu Mal Jewan, mines and minerals.—APP