Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ISLAMABAD, March 6: The combined strength of PPP, PML-N and ANP in the newly-elected National Assembly is slightly short of the two-thirds majority. However, they may cross the two-thirds mark if they win the remaining 10 seats (whose results have not been announced because of litigation, polling termination and polling suspension) or secure the support of the JUI-F which has six seats.

The number position became a little clear after the Election Commission announced at a press conference on Thursday details of the reserved seats for women and minorities allocated to different winning parties on a proportional basis.

The three parties needed 228 seats in the house of 342 for a two-thirds majority.

But, they have at present 225 seats — three short of the magic figure — to take some major steps like impeaching the president and revoking the Article 58-2b to deprive the president of powers to dissolve the National Assembly. The seats have been allocated on the basis of the seats won by the parties in the Feb 18 elections and the independent lawmakers joining them.

The PPP got 27 of the 60 reserved seats for women and four of the 10 reserved for minorities. The Pakistan Muslim League-N got 17 and 3 seats reserved for women and minorities, respectively. The Awami National Party (ANP), which won 10 seats in the National Assembly, has clinched three seats reserved for women. The Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal which bagged five seats in the general elections has got one of the seats reserved for women.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Q got nine seats for women and two for minorities. The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MMA) got five seats for women and one seat for minorities. Prominent among those who clinched the reserved seats for women include Memoona Hashmi, Begum Ishrat Ashraf, Khushbakht Shujaat, Fiza Junejo, Begum Tahmina Daultana, Rukhsana Bangash, Shahnaz Wazir Ali, Farzana Raja, Justice Fakharunnisa Khokhar, Sumaira Malik, Kashmala Tariq, Shahnaz Sheikh, Attiya Inayatullah, Bushra Rehman, Marvi Memon, Sherry Rehman, Fauzia Wahab and Zubeida Jalal. Shahbaz Bhatti, Ramesh Lal and Kishan Chand Parwani are prominent among those elected on reserved seats for minorities.

“The Election Commission has successfully completed the election process and today’s segment was the last one,” Commission’s secretary Kanwar Muhammad Dilshad said.

“By now the Commission has announced the results for 331 seats with seven in litigation, two terminated, one postponed and result on one seat reserved for women was a tie,” he added.