Nuclearisation of Indian Ocean undermining South Asia's strategic stability: NCA

Updated 21 Dec 2017


Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi chairs a meeting of the National Command Authority.— DawnNews
Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi chairs a meeting of the National Command Authority.— DawnNews

The National Command Authority (NCA) on Thursday expressed concern over the stockpiling of nuclear arms and plans for installation of Ballistic Missile Defence system by Pakistan's neighbours — an apparent reference to India — and noted that such destabilising manoeuvres could undermine strategic stability in South Asia.

The 23rd meeting of the NCA, chaired by Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, backed Pakistan's defence forces to hold their own in case of any acts of aggression by the adversaries, but reaffirmed its commitment to Full Spectrum Deterrence — the principle on which Pakistan's nuclear strategy is based.

The meeting expressed full confidence in security measures in place to protect the nation's strategic assets, and reiterated that as a responsible nuclear state, Pakistan will keep on improving its nuclear security as well as non-proliferation measures.

"The NCA asserted that Pakistan desires peaceful co-existence in the region and will endeavour to work with its neighbours to ensure strategic stability in South Asia," a press release said.

During the meeting, the high standards of training and operational readiness of the strategic forces to dispel all kinds of threats were praised.

The NCA also acknowledged the efforts of scientists and engineers whose contributions have led to the fortification of the national defence. In particular, the technological sophistication demonstrated during the Babur III submarine-launched cruise missile (SLCM) and Ababeel Missile System tests were singled out for praise.

Meanwhile, the National Space Programme – 2047 and Nuclear Power Programme were endorsed due to their potential to add to the national socio-economic prosperity.

The meeting was attended by federal ministers of defence and interior, chairman joint chiefs of staff committee, chief of army staff, chief of naval staff, chief of air staff, director general Strategic Plans Division, DG Inter-Services Intelligence, secretary foreign affairs and other senior officials.