Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PTI finalists for Lahore

April 16, 2013

LAHORE, April 15: The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) has announced candidates for 12 NA and 25 PP seats of Lahore and handed over party tickets to candidates at a press conference that turned into an election campaign meeting at party’s Mall office on Monday.

PTI Lahore President Abdul Aleem Khan, who was earlier short-listed as a candidate for NA-127 and PP-147, was dropped and both seats went to his close aides Nasrullah Mughal and Shoaib Siddiqui.

Aleem Khan distributed party tickets to Lahore candidates, some of whom were present on the occasion.

Parrying a question that why he was dropped, Aleem Khan said he had joined the party for the cause of Pakistan and not for a party ticket or a seat. “I have played a major role in finalising party tickets for all Lahore seats and party chief Imran Khan has confidence and trust in me,” he said.

Stating that he was PTI Lahore president and chief organiser, he said that he would himself lead candidates’ electioneering in the city. “If I’m limited to one or two constituencies, who will look after the party’s election campaign in the city?” he said. “This is a war for a New Pakistan,” he added.About his scope in by-election, Aleem Khan said this matter would be discussed after general elections. He said almost 10 party tickets in Lahore constituencies had been awarded to youth. It may also be mentioned that there is only one PTI woman candidate -- Dr Yasmin Rashid -- in Lahore, who has been fielded against PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif in NA-120.

He said party election campaign would begin from Tuesday (today) and party chief Imran Khan himself would inaugurate candidates’ election offices in the city.

In the final party candidates’ list, Mian Hamid Meraj and Mian Mahmoodur Rasheed have been shifted from NA constituencies to PP constituencies. Haji Karamat Khokhar had been awarded ticket for NA-128, which was offered to the Khokhar clan. Earlier, Chaudhry Mansha Sindhu was short listed for NA-129 seat but in the final list present this seat as “open” as candidate is yet to be decided.

PTI ticket-holders for NA constituencies are: Hamid Zaman (NA-118), Muhammad Madni (NA-119), Dr Yasmin Rashid (NA-120), Barrister Hammad Azhar (NA-121), Imran Khan (NA-122), Atif Chaudhry (NA-123), Waleed Iqbal (NA-124), Hamid Khan (NA-125), Shafqat Mahmood (NA-126), Nasrullah Mughal (NA-127), Haji Karamat Khokhar (NA-128) and Talib Sindhu (NA-130).

Party ticket-holders for PP constituencies are: Yasir Gilani (PP-137), Mian Mahmood Ahmad (PP-138), Mazhar Iqbal Bhalli Butt (PP-139), Zubair Niazi (PP-140), Nawaz Nat (PP-141), Malik Waqar Ahmad (PP-142), Muhammad Arshad Khan (PP-143), Mian Hamid Meraj (PP-144), Tariq Hameed (PP-145), Jamshaid Iqbal Cheema (PP-146), Shoaib Siddiqui (PP-147), Ijaz Ahmad Chaudhry (PP-148), Mian Akram Usman (PP-149), Mehr Wajid Azeem (PP-150), Mian Mahmoodur Rasheed (PP-151), Dr Murad Rass (PP-152), Shabbir Sial (PP-153), Asif Raza Beg (PP-154), Hafiz Farhat Abbas (PP-155), Ahsan Rasheed (PP-156), Hamid Sarwar (PP-157), Tahir Majeed Meo (PP-158), Ali Imtiaz Warraich (PP-159), Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokhar (PP-160) and Khalid Mahmood Gujjar (PP-161).