Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Areas, species of birds notified for hunting

November 16, 2012

KARACHI, Nov 16: Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah has declared various areas “open” and others “closed” for hunting during the hunting season 2012-13, which began on Nov 4 and will conclude on Feb 24, 2013, Dawn has learnt.

According to sources, a notification {No: FT&WL (SOI)68/88/2012-13} says that with the approval of the chief minister in exercise of powers conferred under section 41(II) of the Sindh Wildlife Protection Ordinance 1972 and in superession of the Forest and Wildlife Department notification No F&W(SOI)68/88/2011 dated Nov 29, 2011, the hunting schedule is hereby notified for the birds mentioned below which could be hunted against an ordinary permit during the hunting season.

A permit holder can hunt 10 partridges per shooting licence on Sundays only from Nov 4, 2012 to Jan 27, 2013 (both days inclusive), while 40 partridges can be hunted per shooting party comprising four or more licences.

A hunter can hunt 10 sandgrouses per shooting licence on Sundays only from Nov 4, 2012 to Jan 27, 2013 (both days inclusive), while 40 sandgrouses can be hunted by a shooting party comprising four or more licences.

There is no bag limit to hunt quails which can be hunted from Aug 15, 2012 to Feb 24, 2013 on all days except on Fridays.

The areas which have been declared closed for hunting are: The east and west talukas of district Karachi; Mehar; Sindhri; Tando Adam; Khipro; Sinjhoro; Daur; Shaheed Benazirabad; Sakrand; Tando Mohammad Khan; Bulri Shah Karim; Tando Ghulam Hyder; Qasimabad; Samaro; Kunri; Umerkot; Chhachhro; Mithi; Diplo; Nagarparkar; Tando Bago; Shaheed Fazil Rahu; Badin; Jamshoro; Mirpur Sakro; Hala; Salehpat; Pano Aqil; Mirpur Mathelo; Khangharh Sharif; Daherki; Kot Diji; Kingri; Gambat; Moro; Kandiaro; Naushehro Feroz; Bakrani; Dokri; Warah; Shahdadkot; Kambar Ali Khan; Kubo Saeed Khan; Thull; Ghari Khairo; Kashmore; Kandhkot; Lakhi Ghulam Shah and Khanpur.

The areas open for hunting are: The district Malir (except left side of Superhighway from Karachi to Bolhari); and talukas of Dadu; Johi; K. N. Shah; Sanghar; Sarhari; Jam Nawaz Ali; Daulatpur; Pithoro; Kot Ghulam Mohammad; Matli; Talhar; Kotri; Manjhand; Sehwan; Thatta (except Jangshahi); Shah Bunder; Sujawal; Mirpur Bhathoro; Ghorabari; Chamabar; Jhando Mari; Mirpurkhas; Digri; Matiari; Saeedabad; Sukkur; New Sukkur; Rohri; Ghotki; Obauro; Khairpur; Thari Mirwah; Faiz Gunj; Sobhodero; Nara; Bhera; Mehrabpur; Ratodero; Larkana; Miro Khan; Naseerabad; Sujawal Junejo; Jacobabad; Tangwari; Gari Yasin and Shikarpur.

A hunter can hunt 15 ducks, coots, moorhens; snipes, stints, dunlins, godwits, ruff, red shanks and curlews per shooting licence on Saturdays and Sundays from Nov 3, 2012 to Feb 24, 2013 (both days inclusive) while 60 birds can be hunted per shooting party comprising four or more licences.

The areas where hunting is prohibited include Khirthar National Park, wildlife sanctuaries, game reserves, cantonment areas, PAF base Bholari, kacha (riverine area) within protection bunds of the Indus River from Guddu barrage to the Indus Delta (sea).

The ducks are open for hunting on Saturdays and Sundays only in all areas except in the prohibited areas, excluding protected species mentioned in Schedule II, including Spot Bill, Cotton Teal, Lesser Whistling Teal and Marbled Teal, etc.