Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


BISEs declare matric results

August 02, 2008


MULTAN, Aug 1: Of 114,795 candidates who appeared in the matriculation exam under the Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education, Multan, 56,964 were declared successful on Friday.

The pass percentage was 49.62.

Anam Zaidi of the Girls Public School, Multan, bagged the overall top position by obtaining 815 marks while Aftab Sharif of the Muslim Public Higher Secondary School, Peoples Colony, Mumtazabad, Multan and Misbah Mushtaq of the Quaid-i-Millat Public Girls High School, Jalalpur Pirwala, secured the second and third positions by obtaining 812 and 809 marks, respectively.

BISE chairman Prof Muhammad Noor Javed said that 39 cases had been registered against students who had used unfair means.

BAHAWALPUR: Out of 63,691 candidates, 33,731 were declared successful, showing a pass percentage of 52.96.

The overall top position went to two candidates -- Ms Asnia Latif and Hafiz Muhammed Adnan of same institution i.e. Central Public High School, Khanpur, who obtained 809 marks each.

The second position was also shared by two candidates --Muhammed Aniq Aslam of Central Public School, Khanpur and Azqa Mushtaq of Sheikh Zayed Higher Secondary School, Rahim Yar Khan. They secured 806 marks each.

The third position was won by Muhammed Shahan Ali of FFC Grammer High School,

Machi Goth (Sadiqabad) with 805 marks.

Punjab minister for special education Malik Muhammed Iqbal Channar presided over the prize and award ceremony.

DERA GHAZI KHAN: Out of 53,038 candidates, 27,324 were declared successful. The pass percentage remained 51.51.

Boys secured top three positions. Mian Aamir Fiaz of Misali Zakariya Higher Secondary School, Pir Jahanian, Muzafargarh stood first with 805 marks. Ghulam Mujtaba of Govt High School, Jatoi, Muzaffargarh, got second position with 804 marks. Third position was shared by two students – Muhammad Ajmal Misali Zakariya Higher Secondary School, Pir Jahanian (M.Garh) and Zahra Asad of Zahra Girls High School, Jampur (Rajanpur ) by getting 803 marks each .

FAISALABAD: The pass percentage remained 54.05, as 61,882 out of 114,487 candidates were declared successful.

Muhammad Adil Afzal of Berkeley Public Boys High School, Toba Tek Singh (TTS) stood first with 817.

The second top slot was shared by Muhammad Arslan Ahsan of Chaudhary Rehmat Ali Superior Higher Secondary School, Chak 244-GB Gojra, and Arifa Kiran of Chenab Public Girls High School, Shorkot Cantt Road, Shorkot. They got 811 marks each.

Abdul Rahman Ibrahim of Government Islamia Secondary School, Toba, stood third with 810 marks.

SARGODHA: Female students and students of rural area maintained their superiority this year as well. As many as 68,533 students appeared in the examination and of them 31,382 were declared successful. The pass percentage was 45.79.

Zahoor Ahmed of Government High School No 2, Sillanwali and Munaza Mushtaq of Presentation Convent School, Sargodha, shared the top position with 810 marks each.

The second and third slots were bagged by Saba Anwar and Saadia Yasmeen of District Public School and Inter-College Khushab, with 809 and 808 marks, respectively.

Most of the position-holders in Sargodha were critical of the examination system and marking mode as well. They said the cheating remained a dominating factor in the exams which should be checked.

GUJRANWALA: In all 176,159 candidates appeared in the examination and 92,782 were declared successful with a pass percentage of 52.67.

Muhammad Zeeshan of Al-Badar High School, Gujranwala, got the overall top position with 816 marks. Fazal Razaq of Quaid-i-Azam Divisional Public School, Gujranwala, got second slot with 812 marks and Rabia Sajjad of Angels School System, Model Town, Daska, Abdul Rehman of Govt High School No 2, Pasrur, Sialkot, and Waleed Shakeel of Quaid-i-Azam Divisional Public School, Gujranwala, shared the third position with 811 marks each.

Minsiter for Jail Ch Abdul Ghafoor distributed medals among top position holders. DCO Dr Pervez Ahmed Khan, BISE chairman Muhammad Akram and controller also spoke on the occasion.