LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday announced the details of U-13, U-16 and U-19 trials for the selection of National U-13, U-16 and inter-district U-19 teams.

These will be the first trials being held under the 2014 PCB constitution, which was restored recently in place of the previous one introduced on Aug 19, 2019, under which only six provincial teams were participating in domestic circuit.

The 16-team 30-over-a-side National U-13 tournament and the 50-over National U-16 event featuring 16 teams begin simultaneously on March 1 while the Inter-district U-19 tournament having 104 teams starts on May 1.

Players born on or after Sept 1, 2010 will be eligible for selection to the U-13 squads, while players born on or after Sept 1, 2007 will be eligible for selection in the U-16 sides.

The trials for U-13 and U-16 events will be held in different regions from Feb 10-16 while the trials for the U-19 inter-district event will be staged across the regions from Feb 11-16.

According to the plan, open trials will be held and six best players from each district will be selected for the final regional trials before the 16-player squads are finalised.

For the inter-district U-19 event, players born on or after Sept 1, 2004 will be eligible for selection. Through open trials, 35 best cricketers from each district/zone will be selected for final trials before the 15-player squads are finalised.

The following 16 regions (districts in brackets) will participate in the three age-group tournaments:

Abbottabad Region (Abbottabad, Buner, Dir Upper, Haripur, Mansehra, Mardan, Swabi)

AJK Region (Bagh, Kotli, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Poonch)

Bahawalpur Region (Bahawalnagar, Bahawalpur, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Pakpattan, Rahim Yar Khan, Rajanpur)

Faisalabad Region (Bhakkar, Faisalabad, Jhang, Kasur, Mianwali, Sargodha)

FATA Region (Bajour, Bannu, DI Khan, Khyber, Kohat, Kurram, Mohmand, North Waziristan, South Waziristan, Tank)

Hyderabad Region (Badin, Benazirabad, Hyderabad, Jamshoro, Mirpurkhas, Sanghar, Thatta)

Islamabad Region (Central Zone, East Zone, Gilgit Baltistan, North Zone, West Zone)

Karachi Region (Zones I-VII)

Lahore Region (East, North, West Zones)

Larkana Region (Dadu, Jacobabad, Khairpur, Larkana, Shikarpur, Sukkur)

Multan Region (DG Khan, Khanewal, Lodharan, Multan, Okara, Sahiwal, Vehari)

D.M. Jamali Region (Jaffarabad, Lasbela, Loralai, Naseerabad, Sibi)

Peshawar Region (Charsadda, Dir Lower, Nowshera, Peshawar, Swat)

Quetta Region (Chaghi, Gwadar, Kalat, Khuzdar, Qilla Abdullah, Noshki, Panjgur, Pishin, Quetta, Turbat)

Rawalpindi Region (Attock, Chakwal, Jhelum, Rawalpindi)

Sialkot Region (Gujranwala, Gujrat, Hafizabad, Mandi Bahauddin, Narowal, Sheikhupura, Sialkot).

Published in Dawn, February 4th, 2023



Courting controversy
Updated 01 Apr, 2023

Courting controversy

Pakistan cannot afford any of its top judges to be seen to be associated with one political narrative or the other.
No more freebies
01 Apr, 2023

No more freebies

PERHAPS amongst the major reasons Pakistan is fighting to maintain financial solvency today is that its rapacious...
Airports in private hands
01 Apr, 2023

Airports in private hands

THE government decision to ‘outsource’ the operations and land assets of the three main airports in Lahore,...
Sedition law
Updated 31 Mar, 2023

Sedition law

It is about time that our social contract is rewritten to reflect the primacy of the public’s right to democratic expression and dissent.
A step forward
31 Mar, 2023

A step forward

ALTHOUGH her post is temporary at the moment, Justice Musarrat Hilali has nevertheless made history by being...