HYDERABAD, Jan 5: Awami Tehrik chief Rasool Bux Palijo has accused the government of committing atrocities against people of Sindh and Balochistan.

Briefing journalists following a meeting of the party’s general council on Thursday, he said people would resist what he called tyrannical policies of the rulers. Party leaders Qadir Ranto and Vishno Mal and Sindhiani Tehrik president Ms Nazeer Qureshi were also present.

He said protest demonstrations would be held throughout Sindh on Jan 22 against the army operation in Balochistan and a rally would be staged in Hyderabad on Jan 18 against the proposed construction of the Kalabagh dam on a call of the Anti-Greater Thal Canal and Kalabagh Dam Action Committee.

He said the Awami Tehrik was in touch with leaders of Balochistan and added that the people of Sindh were not oblivious of excesses allegedly being committed against the Baloch people. “We consider an attack on Balochistan as an attack on Sindh,” he observed.

Mr Palijo alleged that the undemocratic rulers wanted to take over resources of Sindh and Balochistan.

He said the time had come for the oppressed people of Punjab and other provinces and democratic and progressive forces to unite on one platform and launch a struggle against the government. He praised the people who had launched a struggle against the Kalabagh dam in Punjab.

Stressing the need for unity among all forces, he called upon writers, intellectuals and people at large to remain vigilant against what he called enemies.

Answering a question about the point of view of his party with regard to the planned rally of the Sindh Qaumi Ittehad on Jan 16 against the Balochistan operation, he said he supported such a struggle.

JSQM: Jeay Sindh Qaumi Mahaz chairman Bashir Qureshi here on Thursday announced that the newly-formed Sindh Qaumi Ittehad would hold protest demonstrations throughout Sindh on Jan 16 against the operation in Balochistan and stage a rally against the Kalabagh dam on Jan 28 in Larkana, instead of Hyderabad.

He said the decision had been taken at a meeting of the Ittehad on Thursday. Those who attended the meeting included Ibrahim Joyo, Dr Niaz Kalani, Gul Mohammad Jakhrani, Ayoub Shar, Punhal Sario, Hussain Bux Thebo, Hashim Khoso, Rasool Bux Thebo and Hote Khan Gadhi.