Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


NOWSHERA, July 10: The canvassing for NA-5, Nowshera by-election is gaining momentum following the filing of nomination papers by 14 candidates of political parties.

The seat was vacated by provincial Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, who won it as a Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf candidate.

Political parties have retained their candidates, while the winning PTI has awarded ticket to Dr Imran Khattak, son-in-law of the chief minister and a former tehsil nazim.

Abdul Rehman Khattak is the covering candidate from PTI.

Awami National Party has fielded ex-district nazim Daud Khan Khattak, who remained the runner-up in the May 11 election. ANP district president Malik Juma Khan is his covering candidate.

Tariq Khattak, a former MNA and MPA from the constituency, has filed nomination papers as a Pakistan People’s Party candidate.

Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl has fielded Mufti Sajjad as its candidate, who has already contested the general election.

Jamaat-i-Islami, a coalition partner of PTI in the provincial government, has again awarded ticket to Luqman Qazi, son of former JI chief Qazi Hussain Ahmad.

Three PML-N activists, including Mian Rashid Ali Shah, Haji Hussain Ahmad and Sajid Gumrani, have filed nomination papers for the by-election.

Malik Gul Zali Khan is the candidate of nuclear scientist Dr Qadeer Khan’s Pakistan Tahafuz-i-Party and Abdul Ghafar Khattak independent candidate.

The scrutiny of papers will be completed by July 17 and the final list of candidates will be announced later. — Correspondent