Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


JI, AJIP name candidates for polls in Swabi

SWABI, March 20: The Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP) have named their potential candidates for two seats of National Assembly and six seats of provincial assembly in Swabi district for the upcoming general elections.

However, JI leader Saeed Zada and former MNA Mohammad Usman told journalists here on Wednesday that their doors were open for seat-to-seat adjustment with other political forces. They said that they would follow the agreed principles and formula if JI entered in an electoral alliance with any political party in centre or in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Mr Usman would contest election for National Assembly seat from NA-12, Swabi-1 constituency as a candidate of JI. He had emerged victorious from the same constituency when he was a candidate of Mutahidda Majlis-i-Amal, an alliance of six religious parties.

JI former district chief Amir Nawaz Khan will contest election for provincial assembly seat from NA-13, Swabi-II constituency.

JI provincial deputy chief Mushtaq Ahmad Khan is candidate for provincial assembly seat from PK-23, Swabi-II constituency.

His rival candidates are expected to be Awami National Party’s former MPA Ameer Rehman and Mohammad Ali of AJIP.

Maulana Murad Ahmad, son of famous religious leader late Gul Rahim, is JI candidate from PK-31, Swabi-1, Mehmoodul Hassan from PK-33, Swabi-111, Fahad Shah from PK-34, Swabi-4, Haji Riaz Ali Shah from PK-35, Swabi-5 and district chief Saeed Zada from PK-36, Swabi-6.

The candidates of AJIP include Usman Khan Tarakai from NA-12, Shahram Khan Tarakai from NA-13, Faisal Khan Tarakai from PK-32, Javed Khan Tarakai from PK-32, Mohammad Ali Tarakai from PK-33, Mohammad Ayaz Khan from PK-34, Fazl Ahad Bacha from PK-35 and Hukmat Khan from PK-36.

However, Mr Shahram, AJIP chief, said that if circumstance allowed them they would make some changes in the names of their candidates from PK-35 and PK-36.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf has also received applications from its local members to get tickets for contesting election from the district.

PTI sources said that those, who applied for NA-12 ticket, included former MPA Jan Bahadur, Anwar Haq Dad, Haroon Rashid, Shah Wali, Yousaf Ali, Mukhtiar Bacha and Shahab Khan.

Asad Qaisar, Sohail Tordher, Salman Faisal, Abdul Rashid and Asif Karim applied for NA-13 ticket, they added.

Sources said that Shah Wali, Yousaf Ali, Fazl Rehman and Akhtar Ali applied for PK-31 while applicants for PK-32 included Jan Bahadar, Anwar Haq Dad, Haroon Rashid Zahoor Khan, Alamgir Khan and Irfan Khan. Advocate Mohammad Naeem, Eng Zubair Khan, Mukhtiar Bacha and Ali Zeb applied for PK-33 ticket, they added. Dr Fazl Elahi is the only member, who has applied for PK-34 ticket and those who are interested in PK-35 include Asad Qaisar and Salman Faisal while former district president of PTI Rangaiz Khan is the sole applicant from PK-36.