Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KARACHI: The interim cabinet of caretaker Chief Minister Fazal-ur-Rahman is going to take the oath of office on Friday (today).

It is learnt from official sources that Governor Muhammad Zubair will administer the oath to seven ministers. They are likely to be Khair Mohammad Junejo, Mushtaque Shah, Jameel Yusuf, Dr Junaid Shah, retired Col Dost Mohammad Chandio, Dr Sadia Rizvi and Simon John Daniel.

Fazal-ur-Rahman was the first in the entire country to be selected as the chief minister for the interim setup as both outgoing chief minister Murad Ali Shah and opposition leader Khwaja Izhar agreed on his name.

But formation of his cabinet was delayed as the Grand Democratic Alliance had raised questions on the loyalty of a number of persons who were about to be inducted into the cabinet.

The CM deliberated over the matter and assured the GDA delegation that no partial person would be selected.

A source at the CM House told Dawn that the seven names were almost final but “we cannot rule out the possibility of a last-minute change”.

“The only purpose of bringing in an impartial and carefully selected cabinet is to hold fair and free elections,” it added.

Published in Dawn, June 8th, 2018