Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ISLAMABAD: One polling station each in union councils (UC) 48 and 48 for the by-election on Saturday have been declared sensitive, the police and officials of the capital administration said.

One of the polling stations is the Boys Primary School in Shah Allah Ditta in UC 49 and the other is the Boys School Sara-i-Karboza in UC 48.

According to capital administration officials, fights between supporters of some candidates had broken out at these polling stations during the local government elections.

Superintended of Police (SP) Saddar, Zeeshan Haider chalked out detailed security measures for the by-election and arranged for an additional contingent of 30 personnel - including 10 personnel from Rangers, 10 from the Frontier Constabulary and 10 policemen for each of the sensitive polling stations, the officials said.

In addition, 65 Rangers personnel in 13 quick response teams will also patrol the two UCs and will respond if needed, the officials said. The sub-divisional officers of Saddar and Shalimar will also strengthen their security measures for the elections.

There are seven polling stations in UC 48 and six in UC 49, all of which are schools. Of these, 25 polling stations have been designated for men and 27 for women.

Two Rangers personnel will be deployed inside a polling station and police officials have will be deployed outside. Eight FC officials will also be deployed outside each polling station and two police pickets will be set up outside a station with a team of three to four personnel at each picket. Officials will also be deployed on the roof of every polling station.

One candidate each from the PML-N and PTI and an independent candidate will be contesting the by-election for the seat of the chairman of UC 48 while a PML-N candidate and an independent candidate will be contesting for the seat of chairman UC-49.

Published in Dawn, September 24th, 2016