Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


SAHIWAL, Oct 27: Fifty nine more union councils (UCs) have been added to Sahiwal division during the delimitation process ahead of local government election. The number of UCs in three districts of the division has gone up to 315 from 266. There has been addition of another town committee to the division which has now got eight town committees.

The maximum number of UCs were added to Okara district that has now got 150 UCs while earlier it had 114 UCs, in Sahiwal district the number went up to 102 from 89 while Pakpattan has the same number of UCs, i.e, 63.

Under the new delimitation, based on 1998 census, all seven tehsil councils were now declared municipal committees (MC) and district councils were declared municipal corporations.

The Punjab government, in a notification, upgraded the Kameer town committee to municipal committee which took the number of municipal committees in Sahiwal district to three. The municipal committees are in Chichawatni, Sahiwal, Kameer, Arifwala, Pakpattan, Depalpur, Renala Khurd and Okara.

According to the latest data, Sahiwal district has 88 rural councils, three municipal committees and one municipal corporation.

In Pakpattan district 28 more rural union councils were added to Pakpattan tehsil while 26 rural UCs were added to Arifwala tehsil.

In Okara district, 55 UCs were added to Okara tehsil, 50 to Depalpur and 45 to Renala Khurd tehsil.