Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Jamshed, Irfan dropped for Tests; Manzoor included

Updated August 06, 2013
Nasir Jamshed. -File photo by AFP
Nasir Jamshed. -File photo by AFP

KARACHI: Opener Nasir Jamshed and paceman Mohammad Irfan were left out from the Test squad announced on Tuesday for Pakistan's tour to Zimbabwe.

Khurram Manzoor was recalled to the Test squad in place of Jamshed , who managed just 51 runs in Pakistan's 3-0 whitewash against world number one Test team South Africa in the away series earlier this year.

27-year-old Manzoor was surprisingly dropped after scoring a brilliant 77 in the last of his seven Tests, against Australia in 2010. He failed to break into the national team despite scoring heavily in domestic matches.

Imran Farhat and Faisal Iqbal have been retained while Taufeeq Umar was left out.

Pakistan will open the tour with two Twenty20 internationals in Harare on August 23 and 24 before playing three one-day internationals on August 27, 29 and 31 -- all in Harare.

The first Test starts in Harare on September 3 while the second Test opens in Bulawayo on September 10.

Irfan, the tallest man ever to play international cricket at seven feet one inch, will be part of the one-day and Twenty20 teams but has been rested for the Tests in order to keep him fresh for the series against South Africa in the United Arab Emirates later in the year.

All-rounder Anwar Ali is the only change in the one-day squad after, replacing Wahab Riaz. Suhaib Maqsood is also in the T20 squad along with Ali after a successful domestic season.

Wicket-keeper Adnan Akmal, younger brother of Kamran, also returned to the Test team after losing his place to Sarfraz Ahmed on the South Africa tour.

Kamran once again failed to make any of the squads, while Shoaib Malik was also ignored.

Former captain Moin Khan was appointed manager of the team after the resignation of Naveed Chema with Dav Whatmore leading the coaching staff.


Test squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Khurram Manzoor, Imran Farhat, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Azhar Ali, Faisal Iqbal, Adnan Akmal , Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Ehsan Adil, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman

One-day squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Harris Sohail, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Abdul Rehman

Twenty20: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Umer Amin, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Zulfiqar Babar, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Harris Sohail


August 19 - Departure for Zimbabwe

August 23 - First Twenty20 at Harare

August 24 - Second Twenty20 at Harare

August 27 - First one-day international at Harare

August 29 - Second one-day international at Harare

August 31 - Third one-day international at Harare

Sept 1-5 - First Test at Harare

Sept 10-15 - Second Test at Bulawayo