Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PPP victorious in NA-229, NA-230 repolling

Updated June 01, 2013


-File Photo
-File Photo

THARPARKAR: Unofficials results after re-polling in NA-229 Tharparkar-I and NA-230 Tharparkar-II show that the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidates as having emerged victorious.

NA-229 PPP candidate Faqir Sher Muhammad Bilalani secured 86,592 after repolling, whereas his Peoples Muslim League (PML) opponent Arbab Khan Sahib Togachi recieved 84,922 votes.

NA-230 polls saw PPP candidate Pir Noor Muhammad Shah Jilani winning against his Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI) opponent Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

Jilani secured 59,528 votes, whereas Qureshi managed to recieve 58,298 votes.

PS-62 was won by PPP candidate Makhdoom Khaliq-uz-Zaman with 33,450 votes, while his PML opponent Arbab Anwar Jabbar came in second with 28,895 votes, as per unoffical results.

PS-63 was won by PPP's Dost Ali Rahimoon by 31,839 votes. PML candidate Dr Ghulam Haider Samijo came in second with 27,926 votes, as per unoffical results.

Re-polling was held at four polling stations of NA-229 and 43 polling stations of NA-230 and its corresponding provincial assembly constituencies PS-62 and PS-63.

All eyes were on NA-229 Tharparkar-I as it is the stronghold of the Arbabs who had never lost this constituency in any election.

The ECP had announced the re-election as the administration had failed to conduct the election on May 11 at 47 polling stations, most were either set on fire or ransacked by miscreants belonging to rival political parties.

Re-polling was conducted by the ECP at polling stations of National Assembly and provincial assembly seats in Tharparkar and Kashmore, under the supervision of the army, Rangers and police.