Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PPP reaffirms resolve to hold timely polls

January 10, 2013

KARACHI, Jan 9: The People’s Party categorically stated on Wednesday that it would not allow postponement of elections even for a day on any pretext and reiterated its stance that polls would be held on time as stipulated in the Constitution.

A meeting of senior PPP leaders presided over by President Asif Ali Zardari and Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf noted that if timely elections could be held in war-torn Afghanistan and Iraq there could be no reason for not doing so in Pakistan.

The meeting held at the Bilawal House was also attended by PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.

It set up a four-member committee comprising Khursheed Ahmed Shah, Farooq H. Naek, Nazar Mohammad Gondal and Mian Raza Rabbani to hold talks with political parties, including the PML-N, on the issue of elections and holding them on time and in a transparent, free and fair manner and to confront any opposition to it. President’s Spokesman Farhatullah Babar said the meeting had discussed the current political situation, expressed concern that some elements were trying to derail the democratic system and get the elections postponed and reaffirmed the government’s and PPP’s resolve to thwart such attempts.

“No-one will be allowed to deprive the people of their rights to elect their representatives and choose their government,” it said.

Senator Babar said the meeting had also expressed its determination to maintain law and order and protect the life and property of citizens against any adventurism and under all circumstances.

The others who attended the meeting included former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, Makhdoom Amin Fahim, Rana Farooq Saeed Khan, Syed Naveed Qamar, Qamar Zaman Kaira, Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar, Rehman Malik, Mian Manzoor Wattoo, Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Jahangir Badar, Sardar Ali Khan, Sherry Rehman, Rukhsana Bangash, Fouzia Habib and Chaudhry Imtiaz Safdar Warraich.

Prime Minister Ashraf earlier met President Zardari and exchanged views with him on political developments.

OATH: President Zardari administered oath to Malik Asif Hayat as new chairman of the Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC) at a ceremony at the Bilawal House.

Mr Hayat, a retired BS-22 officer, replaces Justice (retd) Rana Bhagwandas.