Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Election for 38 seats to be held on June 3

April 15, 2008


ISLAMABAD, April 14: The Election Commission announced on Monday that elections for 38 vacant seats of the National Assembly and provincial assemblies will be held on June 3.

Announcing the schedule at a press conference here, Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Qazi Mohammad Farooq said that by-elections would be held for six National Assembly and 22 of the provincial assemblies while fresh polls would be held for two National Assembly seats, five seats of the Punjab assembly and three of the NWFP assembly.

He said nomination papers could be filed between April 15 and April 21 and the papers would be scrutinised between April 22 and April 28.

The last date for filing appeals is May 2. Verdicts on the appeals will be announced by May 9. Candidates may withdraw their papers the following day and the final list of candidates will be issued on May 11.

The six National Assembly constituencies where by-election will take place are: NA-11 Mardan-III, NA-52 Rawalpindi-III, NA-55 Rawalpindi-VI, NA-123 Lahore-VI, NA-131 Sheikhupura-I, and NA-147 Okara-V.

The provincial assembly seats for by-elections in Punjab, Sindh, NWFP and Balochistan are: PP-10 Rawalpindi-X, PP-48 Bhakkar-II,PP-59 Faisalabad-IX, PP-107 Hafizabad-III, PP-118 M.B Din-III, PP-124 Sialkot-IV, PP-219 Khanewal-VIII, PP-229 Pakpattan-III, PP-243 D.G.Khan-IV, PP-258 Muzaffargarh-VIII,PP-277 Bahawalnagar-I; PP-295 Rahim Yar Khan-XI; PS-30 Khairpur-II, PS-44 Matiari-cum-Hyderabad, PS-62 Tharparkar-III; PF-20 Charsadda,IV, PF-45, Abbotabad-II, PF-75- Lakki Marwat-II, PP-91 Upper Dir; PB-9 Pishin-II, PB-32 Jhal Magsi and PB-44, Lasbela I.

Elections could not take place in the following constituencies because of the death of candidates: NA-119, Lahore II, NA-207 Larkana-cum-Shikarpur-cum-Kumber Shahdadkot,PP-99 Gujranwala, PP-70 Faisalabad, PP-141 Lahore, PP-154 Lahore, PP-171 Nankana Sahib, PP-154 Lahore, PF-59 Battagram, PF 81 Swat, and PF-92 Upper Dir.

The CEC also announced the schedule of by-polls for five vacant seats of the Senate. He said the election for a seat from Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) would be held on May 3 and for the NWFP and Balochistan on May 6.

Nomination papers will be received on April 21 and the scrutiny will be held the following day. April 24 has been fixed as the last date for filing of appeals which would be disposed of on April 26. April 28 would be the last date for withdrawal of papers.

The CEC assured that by-elections would be conducted in a free, fair and transparent manner. He asked political parties and candidates to cooperate with the commission in holding by-elections in a peaceful manner.