LAHORE: Governor Chaudhry Sarwar on Monday presented civil awards to 16 personalities at a ceremony at Governor House.

The governor conferred Sitara-i-Imtiaz on retired Justice Nasira Javaid Iqbal in recognition of her public services and COMSATS University’s Prof Dr Arshad Saleem Bhatti for excellence in the fields of micro-electronics, nano-science and nano-technology.

The Presidential Pride of Performance award was conferred on nine recipients: Dr Tahir Mahmood Hayat, chief executive Nespak, in the field of civil engineering; singers Fazal Jutt, Ghulam Abbas, Waris Baig, Saieen Zahoor Ahmad, Sahir Ali Bagga, actors Rahila Khanum popularly known as Deeba Khanum and Ghulam Mohiuddin, and Dr Musarrat Hassan in the field of painting.

The governor conferred Tamgha-i-Imtiaz on five recipients: Yousaf Saleem - the first visually impaired civil judge, on excellence in field and for topping the written examination of Punjab civil judge and judicial magistrate. Prof Dr Saqlain Naqvi, vice chancellor of Bacha Khan University, was conferred award for excellence in the field of science & engineering. Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was also announced for progressive Urdu poet the late Fahmida Riaz for her contributions in the field of literature. However, her daughter has refused to receive the award.

Assistant Director FIA Ejaz Ahmad was awarded Tamgha-i-Imtiaz for excellent contributions in curbing the illegal trafficking of human parts. Kamran Lashari was conferred Tamgha-i-Imtiaz for his services in the field of tourism.

Chaudhry Sarwar congratulated the recipients of civil awards and said there was immense talent in Pakistan and all those, who made Pakistan proud, were its heroes.

The ceremony was attended by provincial ministers Abdul Aleem Khan, Dr Akhtar Malik, Sayed Saeedul Hassan Shah, Sardar Mohsin Laghari, and the Punjab chief secretary.

Published in Dawn, September 8th, 2020