Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Denholm replaces Musk as Tesla board chairperson

November 08, 2018


Robyn Denholm. — Photo courtesy of Tesla website
Robyn Denholm. — Photo courtesy of Tesla website

Tesla says Robyn Denholm of Australia's Telstra has been appointed as chair of its board, replacing company co-founder Elon Musk.

According to an announcement shared by Tesla, Denholm will serve as the board chairperson on a full-time basis.

It added that she would leave her position as the CFO and Head of Strategy at Telstra, Australia’s largest telecommunications company once her six-month notice period there was over.

“I believe in this company, I believe in its mission and I look forward to helping Elon and the Tesla team achieve sustainable profitability and drive long-term shareholder value,” it quoted her saying.

Musk had agreed to vacate his post as board chairperson as part of a settlement with US regulators of a lawsuit alleging he duped investors with misleading statements about a proposed buyout of the company.

The settlement in late September with the Securities and Exchange Commission allowed Musk to remain CEO of Tesla but required him to relinquish his role as chairperson for at least three years.