Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KHAR: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf has won both the National Assembly seats in Bajaur tribal district with a big margin.

According to unofficial final results issued here on Thursday, PTI’s Gul Dad Khan emerged as winner in NA-40 by getting 34,434 votes against his rival candidates. Sardar Khan, the JI-backed independent candidate was the runner-up with 17,836 votes.

Total 14 candidates among them former governor Shaukatullah Khan, former lawmaker Akhunzada Chattan and sitting Senator Hidayatullah Khan contested the election in NA-40.

In NA-41, Bajaur-II, Gul Zafar Khan secured 22,730 votes and defeated independent candidate Abdul Majeed who secured 14,792 votes. Total 12 candidates were in the race for NA-41 seat, including two former lawmakers Akhunzada Chattan and Shahabuddin Khan, and former senator Abdur Rasheed. However, these candidates could not prove their claims to show good results in the election.

Following the victory of PTI nominees in both the constituencies the party workers came out on the road to celebrate the occasion. They chanted slogans in favour of their winning candidates and party chief Imran Khan.

The workers avoided firing in the air and fireworks as the administration had imposed ban on such activities for ensuring a peaceful atmosphere in the district.

Earlier, voting at a polling station in NA-41 continued till late on Wednesday night, sources said. They said that voting at a women’s polling station in Larkholzo area of Mamond tehsil continued till late on Wednesday night so that the women could cast their votes.

Published in Dawn, July 27th, 2018