Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience

As election related activities are picking up across Peshawar, a political party has displayed its banners on Lahori Gate. — White Star
As election related activities are picking up across Peshawar, a political party has displayed its banners on Lahori Gate. — White Star

PESHAWAR: Around 296 candidates filed nomination papers for the five National Assembly and 14 provincial assembly constituencies of the provincial capital with the respective returning officers as the last date of filing nomination papers ended on Monday.

Officials said that 57 candidates filed papers for the five National Assembly constituencies whereas around 239 filed papers for the 14 provincial assembly seats.

Similarly, 262 nomination papers were filed for the 22 seats reserved for women in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa; 88 papers were filed for nine reserved seats for women in the National Assembly from KP; and 73 papers were filed against three seats reserved for non-Muslims in the provincial assembly.

The candidates for reserved seats filed papers with the provincial election commissioner, Pir Maqbool, who is returning officer for the said seats.

239 candidates submit nominations for 14 constituencies of provincial assembly

In NA-27 Peshawar I, 13 candidates filed papers; nine papers were filed in NA-28 Peshawar II; 10 papers were filed for NA-29; seven were filed for NA-30 and 18 papers were filed for NA-31 constituency.

Prominent among the candidates are former federal minister Haji Ghulam Bilour of ANP for NA-31, who will be facing Haji Shaukat of PTI. Similarly, Arbab Alamgir Khalil of PPP filed papers for NA -30, whereas PTI candidate Arbab Sher Mohammad has also filed papers for the seat. Another leader of PTI Khalid Masood has also filed papers in the same constituency.

Outgoing MNA Arbab Aamir of PTI filed nomination papers for NA- 28. Farhan Zafar, son of KP Governor Iqbal Zafar Jhagra, has also filed papers for the same constituency on behalf of PML-N.

Former senator Haji Ghulam Ali of JUI-F filed papers for NA-27 where PTI has fielded former MNA of PPP Noor Alam Khan on the seat. Former woman MNA Asma Alamgir of PPP has also filed papers there.

Former minister and provincial chief of PML-N Amir Muqam has filed papers for NA-29. Former provincial minister of PTI Shah Farman has also filed nomination papers for NA-29 as well as provincial assembly constituency of PK-71.

Prominent lawyer Pir Fida Khan, who has also remained member of Fata Tribunal, was given ticket by PTI and he filed papers for PK-74 constituency.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will take place till June 19 after which appeals against orders of the returning officers could be filed till June 22.

The appellate tribunal will decide the appeals till June 27. Last date for withdrawal of nomination papers will be June 29 and on the same date list of final candidates will be published. Symbols will be allotted to candidates on June 30. Polling will take place on July 25.

Published in Dawn, June 12th, 2018