Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan on Monday approved putting the names of five players involved in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) spot-fixing scandal on the Exit Control List (ECL).

The Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) had earlier approached the interior ministry with a request to place Mohammad Irfan, Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif and Shahzaib Hassan on the ECL in a bid to prevent them from leaving the country.

The interior minister further ordered the Pakistan Telecommunication Authority to crack down on gambling websites in order to discourage and end spot fixing in cricket games.

The minister also ordered investigations against the bookies involved in the practice as well.

The FIA, which began 'interrogating' the accused today, told Nisar that Latif and Irfan had recorded their statements while the three other players have yet to do so.

The Islamabad United duo, Sharjeel Khan and Khalild Latif, were sent home from Dubai after they were allegedly found having links to an international syndicate trying to corrupt the PSL.

Irfan and Hassan were, however, allowed to play the PSL, but later charged with involvement in corrupt practices.

All five cricketers have been suspended from playing any form of cricket.