Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Dawn journalists win ten Agahi Awards

Updated December 10, 2016


Journalists from Dawn won ten Agahi Awards for journalism, for news stories covered between the period of March 2015 to August 2016.

From the Dawn Media Group, Mubarek Zeb Khan got the award in the category of competitiveness. Muhammad Sameer Saleem was awarded in the category of youth empowerment. Adil Aziz Khanzada got the award for the category of CPEC. Muhammad Akbar Notezai won in the category of foreign policy and foresight and futures. Ahsan Raza got the award for the category of South Asia Bridge Initiative.

Zehra Nawab was awarded in the category of culture and tourism. Fazal Khaliq got the award in the category of vocational training and technical education. Hassan Bilal Zaidi got the award in the category of information communication technology.

Hussain Afzal, currently working at Dawn, received the award in the category of video journalism for a video he made while employed at the Express Tribune. Similarly, Muhammad Irfan Haider's award is for a Dawn story, but he is no longer employed at the organisation. Haider received the award for conflict reporting.

More than 3,500 nominations were made in 35 categories and more than 60 jury members evaluated the submissions.

Winners were announced in a ceremony held in Islamabad.

Nasim Zehra of Channel 24 received the 2016 Agahi Award for the 'Most Credible Anchor of the Year'.

Waseem Badami of ARY News and Ayesha Buksh of Geo News received the Peoples' Choice Awards in the category of 'Favourite Current Affairs Anchor – Male' and 'Favourite Current Affairs Anchor – Female' respectively.

ARY News was declared the winner in the category of 'Peoples’ Choice Awards Favourite News Channel of the Year'.

Arshad Sharif and Adeel Raja received the Agahi Award for 'Investigative Journalists of the Year'.

Following is the complete list of winners for Agahi Awards 2016.

Javeria Siddique (Agriculture)

Naimat Khan (Anti-Corruption)

Adnan Aamir (Business and Economy)

Shafi Moosa Mansoori (Citizen Empowerment)

Shumaila Jaffery (Women Empowerment)

Muhammad Sameer Saleem (Youth Empowerment)

Samiullah Randhawa (Climate Change)

Mubarek Zeb Khan (Competitiveness)

Muhammad Irfan Haider and Sadia Qasim Shah (Conflict)

Muhammad Shahzad (Corporate Social Responsibility)

Adil Aziz Khanzada (CPEC)

Shahzia Nisar (Creating Shared Value)

Zehra Nawab (Culture and Tourism)

Syed Muhammad Abubaker (Disasters and Catastrophe)

Naqeebullah Taran (Education)

Muhammad Luqman (Eliminating Hidden Hunger)

Fazal Rahim Awan (Entrepreneurship)

Muhammad Shahzad (Extremism and Terrorism)

Muhammad Akbar Notezai (Foreign Policy)

Ahsan Raza (South Asia Bridge Initiative – SABI)

Muhammad Akbar Notezai (Foresight and Futures)

Wali Zahid (Governance)

Muhammad Shahid (Health)

Haroon Siraj (Human Rights)

Fariha Fatima (Infotainment)

Zeeshan Anwar (Innovation Journalism)

Hassan Bilal Zaidi (Information Communication Technology)

Khalid Khattak (Innovation)

Muhammad Suhail Yusuf (Reporting On Science)

Imran Malik (Institutional Reforms)

Zaheer Uddin Babar (Journalism for Peace)

Muhammad Atif Sheikh (Media Ethics)

Ihtisham ul Haq (Nutrition)

Zahid Gishkori (Open Government)

Sadia Seher (Photo Journalism - Print)

Hussain Afzal (Video Journalism Television)

Sheharyar Ali (Rule of Law)

Saeed Badshah (Sports)

Shehzad Ahmad (Sexual and Reproductive Health Rights - SRHR)

Syed Muhammad Abubakar (Sustainable Development Goals – SDGs)

Fazal Khaliq (Vocational Training and Technical Education)

Syed Muhammad Abubakar (Water Diplomacy)

Muhammad Suhail Yusuf (Water, Energy and Food Security Nexus)

About Agahi

Inaugurated on March 28, 2012, the Agahi Awards are Pakistan’s first ever journalism awards recognising the best journalists across print, television, radio and the internet on more than 40 different journalism thematic beats.

Agahi and Mishal Pakistan in collaboration with leading press clubs across the country, local and international media development bodies, regulatory authorities and the private sector organise these awards.