Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Sharif's 25-member cabinet takes oath

Updated June 07, 2013


Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. — Photo by AP
Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. — Photo by AP

ISLAMABAD: The 25-member federal cabinet of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was sworn in at a ceremony at the presidency on Friday.

The 16 federal ministers and nine ministers of state were administered the oath of office by President Asif Ali Zardari two days after Prime Minister Sharif was sworn in after being elected premier by the National Assembly.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N) has announced the portfolios of the federal cabinet. A notification from the Cabinet Division has also been issued in this regard.

Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan will take over the Interior Ministry with the additional portfolio of Anti-Narcotics, Pervez Rasheed will be given the portfolio of Information Minister, while Ishaq Dar will take over the country's economic matters as Finance Minister. Dar has also been given the additional portfolios of Revenue, Economic Affairs, Statistics and Privatisation.

Khawaja Asif is being given the Ministry of Water and Power, Zahid Hamid Law and Justice and Human Rights, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi will be Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources, while Ahsan Iqbal is being awarded the Ministry of Planning and Development.

Khawaja Saad Rafiq will take charge of Ministry of Railways, Abdul Qadir Baloch States and Frontier Regions (Safron), Sikandar Hayat Bosan Food Security, Birjees Tahir Gilgit Baltistan and Kashmir Affairs, Murtaza Jatoi Industry and Production, Kamran Michael Port and Shipping while Sardar Yousuf will be the Minister of Religious Affairs.

Sadruddin Shah Rashdi will hold the portfolio of Overseas Pakistanis Minister while Anusha Rehman will be Minister for Information Technology (IT), Saira Afzal Health Science Regulation and Coordination, Khurram Dastagir Khan Science and Technology, Pir Muhammad Aminul Hasnat State Minister for Religious Affairs, Abdul Hakim Baloch State Minister for Railways, Jam Kamal State Minister for Petroleum, Sheikh Aftab State Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Mian Balighur Rehman State Minister for Education, Amir Muqam Telecommunication Minister and Shujaat Azeem will be the State Minister for Aviation.

Meanwhile, Sartaj Aziz has been appointed prime minister's Advisor for National Security and Foreign Affairs and Tariq Fatmi and Sanaullah Zahri will serve as Special Advisors to the prime minister.

Moreover, President Zardari, on the advice of the prime minister, has approved the appointment of Munir A. Malik as the Attorney General of Pakistan.

Prime Minister Sharif, Speaker National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq and Chief of Army Staff, General Ashfaq Pervez Kayani, were also present at the presidency for the oath-taking ceremony.

The National Assembly was elected in the May 11 general elections during which the Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) managed to secure the most number of seats.