ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), which emerged as the victorious party in the May 11 elections, nominated Sardar Ayaz Sadiq for the post of speaker National Assembly (NA) and Murtaza Javed Abbasi for deputy speaker on Sunday.

The main opposition Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) fielded Nawab Yousuf as its candidate for the office of the speaker and Ghulam Rasool for deputy speaker.

Earlier, Sadiq defeated Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan in a Lahore constituency in the general elections whereas Abbasi grabbed NA-18 Abbottabad-II.

Meanwhile, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) fielded S A Iqbal Kadri for speaker and Kishwar Zehra for deputy speaker respectively.

The PTI nominated Shaharyar Afridi from Kohat and Munazza Hassan, an MNA on a reserved seat for woman from Punjab, as its candidates for the posts of speaker and deputy speaker.

The nomination papers of all the candidates were declared valid and subsequently submitted in the National Assembly.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place by 2:00 pm on Sunday (today) and the election for the posts will be held tomorrow at 11:00 am.

More From This Section

Treat the disease, not the diseased, says PM on Karachi situation

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif chaired a meeting on Karachi's law and order situation at the Jinnah International Airport.

Guddu Power Plant: PM launches commissioning of additional units

The units would add another 747 MW to the national grid at a cost of Rs 60 billion.

Three SC judges named for commission to probe attack on Hamid Mir

The judges named for the commission are Justice Anwar Jamali, Justice Ejaz Afzal and Justice Iqbal Hameedur Rahman.

Women desks to be set up at all 500 KP police stations: CM

Pervez Khattak also announced the establishment of jury or jirga system at the model police stations.

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
From The Newspaper