Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PESHAWAR, April 7: As the last date of scrutiny of nomination papers for the general election expired on Sunday, the returning officers of four National Assembly and 11 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly constituencies of Peshawar accepted papers of around 415 candidates, including Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan for NA-1, and rejected that of 35 others whereas two candidates withdrew their papers.

For the four National Assembly constituencies the returning officers accepted papers of around 105 candidates and rejected 10 nominations.

Prominent among those whose nomination papers were rejected for National Assembly include Zulfiqar Afghani of Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) for NA-1 as he remained government servant and two years mandatory period had not passed since his leaving the job; former MPA Ateefur Rehman for NA-2 as his graduation examination was cancelled by the University of Peshawar and he had lost legal battle in that regard; a former bureaucrat and PTI candidate Gulzar Khan and some independent candidates.

Prominent candidates whose nomination papers were accepted include former federal minister Ghulam Ahmad Bilour and Imran Ahmad Niazi (Imran Khan) from NA-1; Arbab Alamgir of PPPP, Arbab Najeeb of Awami National Party, former naib nazim  of Peshawar Iqbal Khalil of Jamaat-i-Islami from NA-2; former MNA Noor Alam of PPPP, Senator Ghulam Ali of JUI-F; Iqbal Zafar Jhagra of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Arbab Inam of ANP, Israrullah of Jamaat-i-Islami and independent candidate Hashim Babar from NA-3; former provincial ministers Arbab Ayub of ANP and Misbahuddin of PPPP and ex-MNA Sabir Hussain of JI from NA-4, Peshawar IV.

The returning officers accepted nomination papers of around 410 candidates for the 11 provincial assembly constituencies in Peshawar and rejected papers of around 25 others.

Prominent among those whose papers were rejected include ANP leader Syed Aqil Shah for PK-4 constituency as he was recently convicted for corrupt practices due to submitting fake graduation degree; Samad Mursaleen of PTI for PK-2; ex-MPA Ateefur Rehman for PK-5 as his examination was cancelled by the UoP due to impersonation; and several other PTI and independent candidates.

Interestingly, candidates from the PTI have submitted maximum number of nomination papers as till now the party had not officially named their candidates. All those who submitted papers believe they are the most suitable candidates.

In PK-8 around 27 candidates have filed papers of which 12 were filed by candidates from the PTI. Similarly, eight candidates of PTI filed papers for PK-9 constituency of which papers of three were rejected. Six candidates each of PTI filed papers for PK-2, PK-4 and PK-5.

Appeals against decisions of the returning officers could be filed till April 10 whereas three appellate tribunals set up at the high court would decide the appeals till April 17. Candidates could withdraw their nomination papers till April 18, following which the final list of candidates would be issued on April 19.