Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Imran plans to run for NA-126

LAHORE, March 27: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf chairman Imran Khan plans to contest the general election from the NA-126 constituency of the Punjab capital.

According to a list of hopefuls for various National Assembly seats, PTI president Makhdoom Javed Hashmi and Mian Mahmood Ahmad are candidates for the NA-118 seat. Waqar Ahmad and Usman Gujjar are contesting to get the party ticket for the NA-119 seat. The NA-120 seat is open.

In NA-121, Irshad Dogar, Hamad Azhar and Mahr Wajid Azeem are contenders for the party ticket. In NA-122, PTI Lahore president Abdul Aleem Khan and Mian Akram Khan are candidates. In NA-123, candidates are Hamid Meraj, Atif Chaudhry, while Jamshed Iqbal Cheema and Waleed Iqbal are candidates for party ticket for the NA-124 seat.

In NA-125, Abdul Aleem Khan and Air Marshal Shahid Zulfiqar (retired) are the candidates. In NA-127, PTI Punjab general secretary Dr Yasmin Rashid and PTI information secretary Shafqat Mahmood are the candidates.

In NA-128, Zaheer Abbas Khokhar and Karamat Khokhar are the candidates. In NA-129, Mansha Sindhu and Nawaz Awan are the candidates, while in NA-130 Talib Sindhu, Hamid Sarwar and Usman Hamza are the candidates.

The PTI central parliamentary board is considering districts and Punjab parliamentary boards’ recommendations. The Lahore candidates for party tickets are likely to be finalised by late night.

PTI Punjab president Ejaz Chaudhry says party’s central parliamentary board decided candidates for Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa at its Wednesday’s meeting.

He said the party had asked the remaining candidates to file their nomination papers and that the candidates for Sindh and Punjab would be finalised at the parliamentary board meeting on March 30.

March 29 is the last date to file nomination papers to the election commission.