Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Tariq Magsi opposition leader in Balochistan, rules BHC

March 19, 2013

Chief Minister Nawab Aslam Raisani.—File Photo

QUETTA: The tug-o-war over the choice for Leader of the Opposition in Balochistan appeared to have finally ended late Tuesday as the Balochistan High Court declared Nawabzada Tariq Magsi as the opposition leader in the provincial assembly.

A divisional bench of the BHC comprising Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa and Justice Naeem Akhtar Awan rejected an earlier notification by Speaker Balochistan Assembly Matiullah Agha regarding the appointment of Maulana Wasay of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam Fazl (JUI-F) as the opposition leader.

“How can a minister who has been enjoying ministry for five year become the opposition leader just a day before the dissolution of the assembly,” CJ Qazi Faez Isa remarked. “It is against the spirit of the Constitution and democracy.”

Late Sunday night, a day before the dissolution of the Balochistan Assembly, Speaker Agha had appointed Senior Minister Maulana Abdul Wasay as opposition leader as 13 ministers belonging to the JUI-F and Balochistan National Party-Awami tendered resignations.

The appointment of Maulana Wasay was challenged by Tariq Magsi, who is the brother of Governor Nawabzaba Zulfikar Magsi, through a petition in the high court.

A divisional bench had issued a stay order on Monday against the Maulana Wasay’s appointment, and has now issued a written order declaring Tariq Magsi the leader of opposition.

Governor Zulfikar Magsi has already dissolved the provincial assembly on the advice of the chief minister, while the issue of deciding on a caretaker chief minister to oversee elections is yet to be resolved.

Nawab Raisani will continue to work as chief minister till the nomination of a caretaker chief minister who will be selected by him and the Leader of Opposition Tariq Magsi through consultation.