Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


By Our Correspondent

SANGHAR, June 20: PPP candidate Shahid Khan Thaheem won by-election for PS-83 Shahdadpur held on Tuesday, according to unofficial results, mainly because of support of PML-F which has a large vote bank in the constituency. Thaheem polled 46,341 votes while his rivals, Awami Tehrik candidate Rafiq Jakhro got 773 votes despite boycotting the election and independent candidate Mr Tehseen secured 282 votes. Returning Officer Abdul Khaliq Jamali told Dawn that results had been sent to the Election Commission. Rafiq Jakhro had not submitted any application about his boycott of the election on the polling day, he said. The seat had fallen vacant after the death of minister Abdul Salam Thaheem, father of Shahid Khan.