Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


MQM tables new provinces bill in NA

January 17, 2012

Haider Abbas Rizvi said that his party only supported the already ongoing movement for the creation of Hazara province. – File Photo

ISLAMABAD: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) on Tuesday tabled a constitutional amendment bill in the National Assembly seeking creation of new provinces in Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, DawnNews reported.

The NA session, chaired by the Deputy Speaker Faisal Karim Kundi, included MQM’s three constitutional amendments regarding the creation of new provinces in the agenda.

The 20th constitutional amendment bill was tabled by MQM leader Waseem Akhtar.

While the bill specifically mentions Hazara province to comprise six districts of the KP, it suggests that people of 21 districts in south Punjab should decide through a referendum if they want a large Seraiki province or more than one province.

Similarly, the MQM bill suggests referendum in Dera Ismail Khan and Tank districts of the KP to determine whether the people there want to remain within the present KP administration or join the proposed south Punjab province.

The bill suggests that it should only be approved by the parliament.

The government did not oppose the bill and submitted its draft to a standing committee.

Speaking to media representatives outside the parliament, MQM leader Haider Abbas Rizvi said that his party only supported the ongoing movement for the creation of a Hazara province.

He said his party talks about the creation of new provinces on administrative grounds.

“The amendment bill would be implementable on all four provinces,” said the MQM leader.