Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KARACHI, July 10: The Sindh government on Sunday announced that it had administratively divided the province into five divisions.

According to a Sindh revenue department notification, Karachi will remain a division with the City District Karachi being one city district as it been until July 8.

The notification stated that “in exercise of powers conferred under Section 5 of the Sindh Land Revenue Act, 1967 as amended through Sindh Land Revenue (Amendment) Ordinance, 2011 the Sindh government has divided the province into following five divisions: Karachi Division with its headquarter in Karachi will exist as the City District Karachi as it existed on 8th July, 2011; Hyderabad Division (HQ Hyderabad) will have eight districts — Hyderabad, Tando Allahyar, Tando Mohammed Khan, Matiari, Badin, Thatta, Jamshoro and Dadu; Mirpurkhas Division will comprise four districts — Mirpurkhas, Tharparker at Mithi, Umer Kot, and Sanghar; Sukkur Division will have five districts — Sukkur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Naushero Feroze and Shaheed Benazirabad; while Larkana Division will consists of five districts — Larkana, Kamber/Shahdadkot, Shikarpur, Jacobabad and Kashmore”.