Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE: The annual general meeting of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) take place here on Saturday under the chairmanship of its president Ehsan Mani.

The 33 members of the ACC from across Asia — barring India — will attend the meeting, said a spokesman for the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday.

It is for the first time in the 35-year ACC history that India would not be taking part in such an important event. Officials of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have expressed their inability to attend the meeting.

Notable participants among others attending today’s meeting include Mani, David Richardson (International Cricket Council CEO), Nazmul Hassan (Bangladesh Cricket Board president), Nizamuddin Chaudhury, BCB CEO), Ashley De Silva (Sri Lanka Cricket CEO), Aziz Ullah Fazl (Afghanistan Cricket Board president), Shafiq Stanikzai, ACC CEO), Mohammad Saleem Alyass (Bahrain Cricket Association president), Haider Farman (president of Kuwait Cricket), Mahinda Vallipuram (Malaysian Cricket Association president), Mohamed Aflah (president of Cricket Control Board of Maldives), Nadeem Nadwi (Saudi Cricket CEO), Waleed Bukhatir (member of Emirates Cricket Board), Pankaj Khimji, (member of Omran board), Manzoor Ahmad (Qatar Cricket Association member), Mahmood Gaznavi (Singapore Cricket Association president), Ravi Sehgal (president of Cricket Association of Thailand) and Ashok Nath Pyakuryal (representative of Nepal Cricket Association).

The meeting will discuss matter concerning the promotion of cricket in Asia besides fixing dates for important Asian cricket events.

Published in Dawn, November 17th, 2018

Download the new Dawn mobile app here:

Google Play

Apple Store