ECP releases list of candidates competing in Oct 14 by-polls

Published September 26, 2018
By-elections to be held on October 14. — Photo:file
By-elections to be held on October 14. — Photo:file

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday released the final list of candidates competing in the upcoming by-polls to be held on October 14.

By-elections will be held on 11 National Assembly constituencies, which include two in Lahore, two in Rawalpindi and one each in Karachi, Islamabad, Bannu, Attock, Chakwal, Faisalabad and Gujrat.

This is the first election in which overseas Pakistanis will be able to cast their votes through the i-voting process.

A list of candidates from prominent political parties like Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPP-P) and Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) is as following:

NA-131 (Lahore-IX)

  • Humayun Akhtar Khan — PTI
  • Asim Mahmood — PPP-P
  • Rana Umer Shahzad — TLP
  • Khawaja Saad Rafiq — PML-N

NA-124 (Lahore-II)

  • Ghulam Mohiuddin Dewan — PTI
  • Shahid Khaqan Abbasi — PML-N
  • Shahbaz Mahmood Bhatti — PPP-P
  • Abid Sher Ali — Independent
  • Salman Iqbal — TLP

NA-103 (Faisalabad-III)

  • Manzoor Hussain — TLP
  • Muhammad Saddullah — PTI
  • Ali Gohar Khan — PML-N
  • Shahadat Ali Khan — PPPP

NA-35 (Bannu)

  • Nasim Ali Shah — PTI
  • Syeda Yasmin Safdar — PPP-P
  • Zahid Akram Durrani — MMA

NA-243 (Karachi East-II)

  • Naeem Akhtar — MMA
  • Muhammad Alamgir Khan — PTI
  • Syed Nawazul Huda — TLP
  • Sharafat Ali — PMl-N
  • Amir Waliuddin Chishti — MQM-P
  • Hakim Ali — PPP-P
  • Syed Asif Hasnain — PSP

NA-69 (Gujrat-II)

Moonis Ilahi — PML-Q Raja Salamat Ali — TLP Imran Zafar — PML-N

NA-63 (Rawalpindi-VII)

  • Syed Ishrat Ali Zaidi — PPPP
  • Aqeel Malik — PML-N
  • Qurban Ali — TLP
  • Mansoor Hayat Khan — PTI

NA-60 (Rawalpindi-IV)

  • Zahid Aqeel — TLP
  • Sajjad Khan — PML-N
  • Sheikh Rashid Shafique — PTI

NA-56 (Attock-II)

  • Syed Faisal Mehmood Shah — TLP
  • Malik Khuram Ali Khan — PTI
  • Malik Sohail Khan — PML-N

NA-53 (Islamabad-II)

  • Khan Iftikhar Shahzada — PPPP
  • Abdul Hafeez — TLP
  • Ali Nawaz Awan — PTI
  • Waqar Ahmed — PML-N


Poll language
17 Apr 2021

Poll language

There is a distinction between angry rhetoric and the language of the gutter.
Exempt from accountability?
Updated 17 Apr 2021

Exempt from accountability?

PM Khan has done a disservice to Pakistan by exempting certain institutions from performance requirements.
Education disrupted
Updated 16 Apr 2021

Education disrupted

The cost of not doing anything about them in terms of learning losses and dropouts are going to be very large.


17 Apr 2021

Pak-India mediation

QUESTIONS had been swirling about what and who has prompted the latest detente between Pakistan and India. Now, it...
17 Apr 2021

Energy exploration

SOME exploration and production companies want the government to prioritise offshore exploration — a high-risk...
17 Apr 2021

Professor’s removal

IN a step that will go far in sending a message of reassurance to female students and academic staff in ...
Ban is no answer
Updated 16 Apr 2021

Ban is no answer

The ban will not dilute the narrative that fuels the party, it may even fan it.
16 Apr 2021

Slow recovery

THE pace of growth in large-scale manufacturing output continues to slow down, with LSM production contracting by...
16 Apr 2021

Ramazan profiteering

WITH the month of Ramazan underway, people have begun to feel the effects of galloping inflation even more. Prices...