ECP releases list of candidates competing in Oct 14 by-polls

Published September 26, 2018
By-elections to be held on October 14. — Photo:file
By-elections to be held on October 14. — Photo:file

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday released the final list of candidates competing in the upcoming by-polls to be held on October 14.

By-elections will be held on 11 National Assembly constituencies, which include two in Lahore, two in Rawalpindi and one each in Karachi, Islamabad, Bannu, Attock, Chakwal, Faisalabad and Gujrat.

This is the first election in which overseas Pakistanis will be able to cast their votes through the i-voting process.

A list of candidates from prominent political parties like Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPP-P) and Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) is as following:

NA-131 (Lahore-IX)

  • Humayun Akhtar Khan — PTI
  • Asim Mahmood — PPP-P
  • Rana Umer Shahzad — TLP
  • Khawaja Saad Rafiq — PML-N

NA-124 (Lahore-II)

  • Ghulam Mohiuddin Dewan — PTI
  • Shahid Khaqan Abbasi — PML-N
  • Shahbaz Mahmood Bhatti — PPP-P
  • Abid Sher Ali — Independent
  • Salman Iqbal — TLP

NA-103 (Faisalabad-III)

  • Manzoor Hussain — TLP
  • Muhammad Saddullah — PTI
  • Ali Gohar Khan — PML-N
  • Shahadat Ali Khan — PPPP

NA-35 (Bannu)

  • Nasim Ali Shah — PTI
  • Syeda Yasmin Safdar — PPP-P
  • Zahid Akram Durrani — MMA

NA-243 (Karachi East-II)

  • Naeem Akhtar — MMA
  • Muhammad Alamgir Khan — PTI
  • Syed Nawazul Huda — TLP
  • Sharafat Ali — PMl-N
  • Amir Waliuddin Chishti — MQM-P
  • Hakim Ali — PPP-P
  • Syed Asif Hasnain — PSP

NA-69 (Gujrat-II)

Moonis Ilahi — PML-Q Raja Salamat Ali — TLP Imran Zafar — PML-N

NA-63 (Rawalpindi-VII)

  • Syed Ishrat Ali Zaidi — PPPP
  • Aqeel Malik — PML-N
  • Qurban Ali — TLP
  • Mansoor Hayat Khan — PTI

NA-60 (Rawalpindi-IV)

  • Zahid Aqeel — TLP
  • Sajjad Khan — PML-N
  • Sheikh Rashid Shafique — PTI

NA-56 (Attock-II)

  • Syed Faisal Mehmood Shah — TLP
  • Malik Khuram Ali Khan — PTI
  • Malik Sohail Khan — PML-N

NA-53 (Islamabad-II)

  • Khan Iftikhar Shahzada — PPPP
  • Abdul Hafeez — TLP
  • Ali Nawaz Awan — PTI
  • Waqar Ahmed — PML-N



Election time
Updated 27 Jan, 2023

Election time

There are concerns whether the ECP will be sufficiently able to protect the integrity of elections if they are held under partisan governments.
SCO invite
27 Jan, 2023

SCO invite

THOUGH India’s invitation to Pakistan to attend the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation events in Goa later this ...
Call to arms
27 Jan, 2023

Call to arms

ONE way the state abdicates responsibility in Pakistan is by farming out its functions to the private sector. In ...
Nuclear miscalculations
26 Jan, 2023

Nuclear miscalculations

IF the claim of former US secretary of state Mike Pompeo, that Pakistan and India came close to a nuclear exchange...
Exchange rate cap
26 Jan, 2023

Exchange rate cap

THE ‘management’ of the exchange rate by the State Bank, allegedly at the behest of the government, to ward off...
Fawad’s arrest
Updated 26 Jan, 2023

Fawad’s arrest

Does the state really need to fan public discontent in a period as fraught with uncertainty as this?