KARACHI: The Sindh Assembly is set to meet on Tuesday (today) to take part in the presidential election.

The provincial lawmakers will be able to cast their votes from 10am to 4pm.

Chief Justice of the Sindh High Court will preside over the proceedings, officials in the assembly said.

The Sindh Assembly consists of 168 members but 163 members will cast their votes this time as two female members of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan have yet not taken oath.

A PPP member from Khairpur has opted for the National Assembly while Governor Imran Ismail has resigned from his Karachi seat. Besides, election on PS-87 (Malir) was cancelled on July 25 because of death of a candidate.

Some 2.5 votes would constitute a single vote as each provincial legislature is eligible to cast 65 votes equal to the strength of the Balochistan Assembly being the smallest in size. The PPP has 97 seats in the provincial assembly, PTI has 28 while MQM-P has 20 seats.

Similarly, Grand Democratic Alliance has 14 seats, Tehreek-i-Labbaik has three and Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal has one seat.

Thus, the PPP could secure 38.68 votes in the Sindh Assembly if all of its members cast their votes, PTI could get 11.16, and its ally MQM has around eight votes. The GDA has 5.58 votes, TLP has 1.2 votes and MMA has 0.4 vote.

Published in Dawn, September 4th, 2018