Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PESHAWAR: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz announced its candidates for 25 of 39 National Assembly constituencies in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa here on Thursday.

The party’s provincial parliamentary board, headed by its provincial president Amir Muqam, announced the list with the approval of central parliamentary board. The names of rest of candidates would be announced within a couple of days, according to a statement issued here.

The ticket for NA-1 Chitral was awarded to Shehzada Iftikhar, NA-2 Swat to Amir Muqam, NA-3 Swat to PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, NA-4 Swat to Feroz Shah advocate, NA-5 Upper Dir to Nisar Khan Wardak, NA-6 Upper Dir Javed Akhtar Tajak advocate, NA-7 Lower Dir Ms Sobia Shahid, NA-11 Kohistan Malik Misri Khan, NA-12 Battagram Alamzeb Khan, NA-13 Mansehra Sardar Shah Jahan, NA-14 Mansehra retired Capt Safdar Khan, NA-17 Haripur Babar Nawaz, NA-18 Swabi Sajjad Ahmed, NA-19 Swabi Imranullah, NA-21 Mardan Arsallah Khan Hoti, NA-22 Mardan Jamshed Khan Mohmand, NA-24 Charsadda Mian Alamgir Shah, NA-25 Nowshera Siraj Mohammad Khan, NA-26 Nowshera Nawab Khan, NA-29 Peshawar Amir Muqam, NA-31 Peshawar Malik Nadeem,NA-32 Kohat Abbas Afridi, NA-34 Karak Rehmat Salam Khattak and NA-39 Dera Ismail Khan to Akbar Khan.

Mr Muqam will also contest the election from PK-2 Bahrain area of Swat. For the provincial assembly constituencies, the party has so far named candidates for only six seats in Swat, which include Sardar Khan from PK-3 Khwazakhela tehsil, Irshad Ali Khan from PK-5 Babuzai tehsil, Habib Ali Shah from PK-6 Barikot tehsil, Azmat Ali Khan from PK-8 Matta tehsil and Abdullah Khan will contest the election from PK-9 constituency of the municipal committee area of Matta.

Published in Dawn, June 15th, 2018