Aga Khan presents Global Pluralism Award

Updated November 17, 2017


KARACHI: Aga Khan, chairman of the Global Centre for Pluralism, presented the inaugural Global Pluralism Award during a ceremony held in Ottawa the other day.

Apart from a delegation of the Ismaili imamat, the ceremony was attended by Canada’s Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin, according to a statement on Thursday. The three winners — Leyner Palacios of Colombia, Alice Nderitu of Kenya and Daniel Webb of Australia — were recognised for their sustained commitment to building more inclusive, peaceful societies.

“The example set by others can be a powerful source of inspiration — and that is why the Global Centre for Pluralism has established this award. Their essential purpose is to share the power of inspiring examples with an ever-wider community of pluralism all across our world, a community that will then create a growing momentum for inclusion — rather than exclusion — as a way to respond to the changes of our world,” the statement quoted the Agha Khan as saying.

Each winner was presented with fifty thousands Canadian dollars to further their work in support of pluralism. The award was envisioned by the Aga Khan to celebrate extraordinary examples of pluralism in action. It was launched in a year that is significant for both the centre’s founders — Aga Khan and the government of Canada.

Published in Dawn, November 17th, 2017