LAHORE: Punjab University’s teachers community is going for its annual Academic Staff Association (ASA) elections 2015 on Wednesday (today).

Three panels -- Teachers Front, Teachers Front Alliance and Faculty Strengthening Forum -- are contesting the elections.

As many as 826 teachers will exercise their right to franchise at Waheed Shaheed Hall of the Institute of Education and Research from 8am to 4pm under the supervision of election commissioner Taqi Zahid Butt.

The Teachers Front has fielded Hailey College of Commerce Principal Prof Dr Hasan Mobeen Alam as president, Dr Faheem Aftab VP (science), Dr Abid Husain Chaudhry VP (arts), Dr Mahboob Husain secretary, Farhan Ahmed Chaudhry joint secretary and Dr Hafiz Moqeet Javed Bhatti treasurer.

The Teachers Front Alliance is contesting elections with Institute of Chemistry’s Dr Ehsan Sharif as president, Dr Asmatullah VP Science, Iftikhar Ahmad Tarar VP Arts, Javed Sami secretary, Dr Shahbaz Ahmed Cheema joint secretary and Tariq Mahmood Butt treasurer.

The candidates for Faculty Strengthening Forum are Dr Rana Eijaz Ahmad for president, Dr Muhammad Usman Awan VP Science, Dr Abida Eijaz VP Arts, Dr Bushra Rahman secretary and Iffat Sayeed treasurer.

The Teachers Front has fielded Mudassar Azam, Dr Muhammad Ayub Faridi, Muhammad Shabbir Sarwar, Naeemullah Khan, Dr Naumana Amjad and Sonia Omer for executive members Quaid-i-Azam Campus and Dr Sardar Asghar Iqbal and Misbah Sultana for executive members Allama Iqbal Campus.

The Teachers Front Alliance has fielded Javed Akhter, Malik Fiaz Husain Ferdosi, Hamid Chaudhry, Muhammad Haris, Samee Uzair and Dr Naveed Ahmed for executive members Quaid-i-Azam Campus and Dr Faisal Bukhari and Umair Babar for members executive Old Campus.

No candidate of FSF is contesting for both slots.

Published in Dawn March 11th , 2015

On a mobile phone? Get the Dawn Mobile App: Apple Store | Google Play