Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


DUBAI: Bangladesh defeated New Zealand by 77 runs to win their fourth Plate Championship title at the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

Opener Shadman Islam scored 97 and Litton Das contributed 79 as the pair put on 124 for the second wicket to propel Bangladesh to 223 in 47 overs at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Off-spinner Mosaddek Hossain then returned figures of 10-4-23-4 as New Zealand ended up at 146-9 after Brett Randell followed up his two for 22 with a defiant 51 not out.

Bangladesh had previously won the Plate Championship in South Africa (1998), Bangladesh (2004) and New Zealand (2010).

Shadman, who hit 13 fours in a 113-ball innings, finished with a series aggregate of 406 runs. He leads Imam-ul-Haq of Pakistan by 36 runs, with South Africa captain Aiden Markram occupying third place with 304.

Both Imam and Markram will feature in Saturday’s Super League final.

In the fifth/sixth position play-off match, India overcame Tagenarine Chanderpaul’s century to beat the West Indies by 46 runs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Chanderpaul scored 112 from 136 balls with eight fours and a six as West Indies, chasing India’s mammoth 340-8, finished at 294-8. Chanderpaul finished the tournament with 293 runs with one century and two half-centuries.

Earlier, Ankush Bains (74), captain Sanju Samson (67) and Shreyas Iyer (66) batted well for India.

Afghanistan finished at an impressive seventh position after defeating Sri Lanka by five wickets at ICC Academy 2. This was Afghanistan’s second big victory in the tournament.

Zimbabwe finished 11th in the 16-team tournament when they defeated hosts United Arab Emirates by 84 runs.

On Friday, England and Australia will clash in the third/fourth position play-off at the ICC Academy 1.

At the ICC Academy 2, Pakistan and South Africa will prepare for Saturday’s final and will hold their pre-match media conferences at the ICC headquarters. The pressers will be followed by captains’ photo-shoot with the Under-19 World Cup trophy.

Results of other matches:

5th/6th position play-off — India beat West Indies by 46 runs at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

INDIA 340-8 in 50 overs (A.K. Bains 74, S.V. Samson 67, S.S. Iyer 66, D.J. Hooda 42; Gudakesh Motie 3-52, Preston McSween 2-74); WEST INDIES 294-8 in 50 overs (T. Chanderpaul 112, N. Pooran 54, T.D. Coleman 45; C.V. Milind 2-50).

7th/8th position play-off — Afghanistan beat Sri Lanka by five wickets at ICC Academy 2.

SRI LANKA 114 in 34.3 overs (P.R.A.P. Perera 30; Usman Ghani 3-21, Sayed Shirzad 3-33); AFGHANISTAN 118-5 in 21.2 overs (Ihsanullah 37 not out, Hashmatullah Shaidi 34, Usman Ghani 27; S.A.N.J. Fernando 4-50).

11th/12th position play-off — Zimbabwe beat UAE by 84 runs at Abu Dhabi Oval 1.

ZIMBABWE 205 in 50 overs (L.M. Longwe 80, S.T. Handirisi 38; Moaaz Qazi 3-35, K.W.K. Perera 2-28, Sajid Khan 2-33); UNITED ARAB EMIRATES 121-9 in 50 overs (Rohit Singh 30; K.O. Geyle 3-20, H.T. Chikomba 3-21).

Friday’s fixture: England v Australia (3rd/4th position play-off, ICC Academy 1).—Agencies

Scoreboard BANGLADESH: Shadman Islam b Collier 97 Joyraz Sheik b Jamieson 5 Litton Das c Seifert b Watson 79 Mosaddek Hossain c Jamieson b Hicks 5 Nazmul Hossain c O’Donnell b Randell 1 Yasir Ali c Collier b Watson 15 Mehedy Hasan lbw b Benton 5 Saeed Sarkar run out 2 Nihaduzzaman c and b Randell 6 Mohammad Saddam run out 2 Mustafizur Rahman not out 0 EXTRAS (B-1, LB04, W-1) 6 TOTAL (all out, 47 overs) 223 FALL OF WKTS: 1-21, 2-145, 3-157, 4-162, 5-199, 6-205, 7-215, 8-216, 9-221. BOWLING: Jamieson 9-1-32-1; Randell 8-1-22-2; Hicks 7-0-40-1 (1w); Benton 10-0-56-1; Watson 10-0-49-2; Collier 3-0-19-1. NEW ZEALAND: R.K. Weerasundara b Saeed 12 H.D.R. Collier c Das b Mosaddek 16 K.J. McClure st Das b Mehedy 0 R.R. O’Donnell b Mosaddek 16 S. Hicks lbw b Nihaduzzaman 23 L.J. Carter c Yasir b Mosaddek 1 T.L. Seifert b Nihaduzzaman 5 K.A. Jamieson c Das b Yasir 0 B.G. Randell not out 51 D.L. Watson lbw b Mosaddek 11 J.T.A. Benton not out 4 EXTRAS (LB-5, W-2) 7 TOTAL (for nine wkts, 50 overs) 146 FALL OF WKTS: 1-26, 2-31, 3-41, 4-56, 5-66, 6-74, 7-75, 8-89, 9-112. BOWLING: Mustafizur Rahman 6-2-22-0; Mehedy Hasan 10-2-32-1; Saeed Sarkar 5-1-19-1 (1w); Mosaddek Hossain 10-4-23-4; Nihaduzzaman 10-0-31-2; Yasir Ali 7-2-8-1 (1w); Mohammad Saddam 2-0-6-0. RESULT: Bangladesh won by 77 runs. UMPIRES: P.J. Nero (West Indies) and I.N. Ramage (Scotland). MATCH REFEREE: D. Govindjee (South Africa). MAN-OF-THE-MATCH: Shadman Islam.