Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


MUZAFFARGARH, May 12: The Pakistan People’s Party has failed to get even single seat in Muzaffargarh district which was once considered to be a mini-Larkana.

In the five National Assembly seats and 11 provincial assembly seats of the district, two NA seats were won by the PML-N.

In NA-176 Malik Sultan Mahmood Hunjra of the PML-N took 87,172 votes and Ghulam Mustafa Khar of the PML-F got 73,574 votes. In NA-177 independent candidate Jamshed Dasti took 32,956 votes, PPP candidate Ghulam Rabbani got 18,562 votes and PML-N candidate Khalid Gurmani bagged 17,890 votes. Results of some polling stations are being awaited.

In NA-178 Jamshed Dasti secured 79,198 votes and defeated Abad Dogar of the PML-N (67,198 votes) and PPP candidate Nawabzada Iftikhar (56,000 votes). In NA-179 PML-N candidate Syed Basit Sultan Bukhari got 105,832 votes and PPP candidate Sardar Moazzam Jatoi bagged 71,326 votes.

In NA-180 independent candidate Sardar Ashiq Gopang (58,169 votes) defeated PPP candidate Sardar Qayyum Jatoi (46,000 votes) and PML-N candidate Abdullah Shah Bukhari (43,400 votes).

In provincial assembly seats: In PP-251 Malik Ahmad Yar Hunjra of PML-N got 33,276 votes and PTI candidate Arshad Rind secured 27,948 votes.

In PP-252 independent candidate Zeeshan Gurmani (20,300 votes) defeated PPP candidate Bilal Khar (17,485 votes).

In PP-253 independent candidate Murtaza Raheem Khar (35,558) defeated PPP candidate Ihsanul Haq Nolatia (19,000 votes) and Dr Yunis of the PML-N candidate (24,679 votes).

In PP-254 the elections were postponed due to the death of candidate Mushtaq Khera.

In PP-255 independent candidate Mian Alamdar Qureshi got 31,000 votes and Farooq Khar took 7,156 votes.

In PP-256 PML-N candidate Imran Qureshi got 30,856 votes while independent candidate Amir Karamat bagged 28,176 votes.

In PP-257 PML-N candidate Qaswar Langrial secured 34,122 votes while Khalid Makwal bagged 21,166 votes.

In PP-258 Haroon Sultan Bukhari of PML-N candidate got 45,746 votes and PPP candidate Abdul Aziz Khulang took 24,456 votes.

In PP-259 PML-N candidate Khan Mohammad Jatoi got 44,460 votes while PPP candidate Samiullah bagged 40,348 votes.

In PP-260 independent candidate Syed Sibtain Bukhari clinched 20,730 votes while PPP candidate Shehzad Rasool Jatoi got 15,322 votes.

In PP-261 independent candidate Amir Talal Gopang won by securing 33,196 votes while Qaim Ali Shamsi of the PML-N candidate got 20,251 votes.

Meanwhile, in NA-176 and PP-251 Malik Ghulam Mustafa Khar and PTI candidate Arshad Rind rejected the results alleging rigging committed by their opponents with the help of officials.