Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PML-N tops list of MNAs with over 100,000 votes

June 08, 2013
A view of the National Assembly. — File photo
A view of the National Assembly. — File photo

ISLAMABAD, June 7: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has topped a list of members of the National Assembly who secured more than 100,000 votes in the recent elections, with 50 of its MNAs among the 78 clinching votes in six digits.

As many as 13 MNAs of Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), 10 of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and three of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) secured more than 100,000 votes.

Dr Muhammad Afzal Khan Dhandla, one of the two independents who bagged votes in six digits, has joined the PML-N. Independent MNA Jamshed Ahmad Dasti clinched 103,323 votes in NA-177.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif bagged 140,828 votes in NA-68.

Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi secured over 100,000 votes from NA-52 and NA-50 respectively. Raja Muhammad Javed Akhlas, who beat former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf from NA-51, secured over 100,000 votes.

Hamza Shahbaz Sharif, Sumaira Malik, Zahid Hamid, Abid Sher Ali, Chaudhry Iftikhar Nazir, Sardar Jaffar Leghari, Dr Hafeez ur Rahman Dareshak, Major Tahir Iqbal, Sardar Mumtaz Khan, Chaudhry Khadim Hussain, Malik Iqbal Mehdi Khan, Pir Amin ul Hasnat Shah, Mohsin Shah Nawaz Ranjha, Chaudhry Hamid Hameed, Dr Zulfikar Ali Bhatti, Ghulam Rasool Sahi, Bilal Chaudhry, Nisar Ahmad, Rana Muhammad Afzal Khan, Akram Ansari, Khurram Dastgir Khan, Usman Ibrahim, Junaid Anwar Chaudhry, Chaudhry Asad ur Rahman, Mahmood Basheer Virk, Mian Tariq Mehmood, Nasar Iqbal Bosal, Armaghan Subhani, Mehar Ishtiak Ahmad, Waheed Alam Khan, Afzal Khokar, Arif Chaudhry, Waseem Akhtar Shaikh, Rao Ajmal Khan and Fiazul Hasan are among the other PML-N lawmakers who secured more than 100,000 votes.

Dr Farooq Sattar of the MQM bagged more than 100,000 votes. Mehboob Alam of MQM secured maximum votes (192,638) from NA-243.Mehboob Alam of the same party secured 166836 votes from NA-242. Nabeel Gabol obtained 137,874 votes from NA-246 while Sheikh Salahuddin got 133,885 from NA-244. Other MQM MNAs who secured over 100,000 votes include Sufyan Yousuf, Muhammad Muzammil Qureshi, Syed Asif Hasnain, Iqbal Muhammad Ali Khan and Sajid Ahmad.

President Asif Ali Zardari’s sister Dr Azra Fazal Pechuho and spouse of his other sister Munawar Ali Talpur are among the 10 PPP lawmakers who secured more than 100,000 votes.

Other PPP leaders who secured more than 100,000 votes include former speaker of the National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza, Ali Muhammad Khan Mahar, Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Sardar Kamal Khan Chang, Malik Asad Sikandar and Imran Zafar Leghari.

PTI chief Imran Khan bagged 133,224 votes in his hometown Mianwali (NA-71).

The other two candidates from the PTI who bagged over 100,000 votes are Raja Aamer Zaman (NA-19) and Amjad Ali Khan (NA-72).