Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


WANA/BANNU, May 21: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate emerged as winner from NA-41 (South Waziristan), Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians candidate from PK-71, Bannu-II, and an independent candidate from PK-72, Bannu-II, following re-polling on total 11 polling stations of tribal area and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa constituencies on Tuesday.

PML-N candidate Ghalib Khan won the election for NA-41 tribal area-VI (South Waziristan), where re-polling was held at four polling stations. He got 7,950 votes while Ali Khan, an independent candidate, secured 7,648 and remained the runner-up.

According to unofficial results, re-polling was held at four polling stations, including Wacha Dana, Dabkot, Khankot and Marna Ghundi. Tight security arrangements were made on the occasion. The re-polling was conducted smoothly and no untoward incident was reported from any polling station in the volatile tribal agency.

The Election Commission of Pakistan had decided a few days ago to hold re-polling for NA-41 after receiving reports from the political agent/district returning officer of South Waziristan.

In Bannu, according to unofficial vote count, Fakhar Azam Khan of PPPP won from the PK-71 by getting 17,360 votes, while ANP’s Taimur Khan could manage 16,219 votes. Re-polling was held at four polling stations, including Kamar Kala high school, Gaddi Tapp, Mohammad Noor Patolkhel and Morghali.

According to unofficial results, independent candidate Malik Shah Mohammad Khan emerged as winner from PK-72 following re-polling. He got 14,408 votes against his closest rival JUI-F’s Syed Hamid Shah (12,992 votes). Re-polling was held at three polling stations, including Nawab Narmikhel girls school, Gul Zali Bakakhel and Kotka Allahdad. Shah Mohammad has also announced joining the PTI.

The voting started at 8:00am and continued till 5:00pm amid tight security arrangements.

The ECP had withheld the results of the two provincial assembly constituencies following complaints of gunfire and stopping of polling at seven polling stations. It later ordered re-polling there.