LAHORE, May 12: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has won 12 of 13 national assembly and 22 of 25 provincial assembly seats in the provincial metropolis, according to unofficial results.

In the last election, the PML-N had won 11 national and 23 provincial assembly seats.

PML-N candidate for NA-126 Khwaja Ahmad Ehsan lost to PTI information secretary Shafqat Mahmood with a margin of 6,000 votes. The PTI also won both provincial assembly seats – PP-152 (Dr Murad Ras) and PP-151 (Mahmoodur Rashid) – falling under it. Mahmood got over 93,000 votes while Ehsan polled 87,000.

In the last election Umer Sohail Butt of PML-N had won this seat while Dr Saeed Elahi and Rana Ijaz were elected to provincial seats. The PML-N fielded Khwaja Salman Rafiq and Tauseef Shah this time. A PML-N insider said that ‘poor’ coordination with their party workers was the main reason for their defeat.

On NA-125, PML-N’s Khwaja Saad Rafiq got over 120,000 votes defeating PTI’s Hamid Khan (83,000). The PTI has accused Saad of rigging and Mr Khan announced challenging the decision in the court.

On NA-127, Waheed Alam of PML-N obtained 102,000 votes defeating PTI’s Nasrullah Mughal over 45,000 votes.

On NA-128, PML-N’s Afzal Khokhar bagged 120,000 votes defeating PTI’s Karamat Khokhar (77,000).

On NA-129, PML-N’s Shahbaz Sharif got 93,000 defeating PTI’s Mansha Sindhu (36,000).

On NA-130, PML-N’s Sohail Shaukat Butt secured 87,000 defeating PPP’s Samina Ghurki 32,000.

On NA-118, Malik Riaz got 103,000 votes defeating PTI’s Hamid Zaman 43,000.

On NA-119, PML-N’s Hamza Shahbaz polled 107,000 votes defeating Muhammad Madni of PTI (40,000).

On NA-120, PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif got 91,000 defeating PTI’s Yasmin Rashid (52,000).

On NA-121, Mehr Ishtiq of PML-N defeated Hamad Azhar of PTI.

On NA-122, Ayyaz Sadiq of PML-N got 93,000 defeating Imran Khan 84,000.

On NA-123, PML-N’s Pervaiz Malik got 126,000 votes defeating PTI’s Atif Chaudhry 40,000.

On NA-124, Sheikh Rohail Asghar of PML-N got 119,000 defeating PTI’s Walid Iqbal 42,000.

PTI’s Aslam Iqbal defeated Akhtar Rasool of PML-N on PP-148. —Staff Reporter