Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LADHA/GHALANAI, May 12: Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-F candidate from NA-42, South Waziristan, Jamal Din, and independent candidate from NA-36, Mohmand Agency, Malik Bilal Rehman, were declared winners.

District returning officer in NA-42 Shahid Ullah declared JUI-F candidate Jamal Din winner who polled 3,356 votes, where turnout remained very poor. Independent candidate Brig (retd) Qayum Sher Mehsud bagged 2,995 votes.

Total number of registered voters in NA-42 is 108,056, but very nominal number of people cast their votes due to mismanagement at the polling stations. Displaced voters from Mehsud area of South Waziristan were provided opportunity to exercise their right to vote in Dera Ismail Khan and Tank districts.

Candidates had brought voters from Karachi and Hyderabad to the polling stations but they could not cast votes due to discrepancies in the voters’ lists and disturbance at the polling stations.

Officials said results of NA-41, South Waziristan, had been withheld because ballot boxes from 13 polling stations had not been brought to Wana, the headquarters of the agency, for counting.

Results of 49 polling stations in the constituency had been announced, according to which, Pakistan Muslim League-N candidate Ghalib Wazir bagged over 7,000 votes followed by independent candidate Mohammad Ali Wazir who polled 6,000 plus votes.

An official said ballot boxes from 13 polling stations situated in far flung areas of the agency could not be transported due to heavy rainfall. Candidate of Awami National Party Ayaz Wazir had already expressed serious reservations over the polling process in the constituency and alleged armed activists of the Taliban-led peace committee had expelled polling agents of his and other candidates from the polling stations.

In Mohmand, independent candidate and Ex-MNA Malik Bilal Rehman, who got 8,175 votes from NA-36, was declared winner. Jamaat-i-Islami candidate Mohammad Saeed Khan remained runner-up with 4,965 votes.

While other candidates -- Nisar Ahmad (independent ) got 4,475 votes, Khan Dad (independent) 4,355, Maulana Ghulam Sadiq of JUI-F 4,209, Zar Khan Safi of PML-N 3,400, Rahim Shah Mohmand (independent) 2,853 and Dawood Shah of PTI 1,666 votes.